Installing Lion on from Snow Leopard with Bootcamp

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by jrcsh6, Oct 14, 2010.

  1. macrumors 6502

    jrcsh6

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    #1
    so lets say Lion comes along. when upgrading onto my machine with bootcamp will is go on smoothly? i didn't have a intel mac when we went from leopard so i have no experience. it should right? should be super easy and totally backed by steve as the greatest thing ever!:)
     
  2. macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #2
    Presumably but as no one knows anything about lion, it's impossible to say. We may know more next week. Don't expect commercial release until middle of next year.
     
  3. macrumors 68030

    Duff-Man

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Location:
    Albuquerque, NM
    #3
    Duff-Man says...oh ffs, they have not even officially announced anything yet let alone made mention of any features etc...at least wait until *after* that before asking stuff that there cannot possibly be any credible answer to.

    Having ranted that, Bootcamp is something that is a major feature of OS X now - logically, they are not going to put out an OS upgrade that intentionally screws it up (unless they explicitly say that "no bootcamp" is one of the "features" heheh)....oh yeah!
     
  4. macrumors 6502a

    Grannyville7989

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    #4
    When I was on Leopard, I had a Boot Camp partition with Windows 7. When I got myself Snow Leopard, I performed and upgrade install and after that completed, I gave my Windows 7 a spin to see how it was working out and everything was fine. Upgraded the drivers and it was running better than before. I've even done a clean install of Mac OS X with Windows 7 present on the hard drive and it still worked as if nothing had happened. :)
     
  5. macrumors 603

    mrkramer

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Location:
    Somewhere
    #5
    It should work fine, but, it's not going to be for sale for at least another year.
     
  6. macrumors 6502a

    tibi08

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    Location:
    Brighton, UK
    #6
    I have it on official word from Apple that Mac OS X "Lion" will completely erase the bootcamp utility and any Windows installations from your Mac.
     
  7. macrumors 601

    sammich

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Location:
    Sarcasmville.
    #7
    Boot Camp is on a separate partition. Installing something on one partition won't affect what's installed on another. That's basically the whole point of a partition, basically a virtual 2nd hard drive.
     
  8. thread starter macrumors 6502

    jrcsh6

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    #8
    i'm hoping this is how it is. being partitioned it should be that way it seems. it would be a real drag for those of us using win 7 on the side for work if it wipes the whole thing!
     
  9. macrumors 68000

    lamina

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Location:
    From Canada, living in Seoul
    #9
    I logged in just to say I love your persistence. You're an awesome part of the community here. No sarcasm.
     
  10. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Location:
    Medford, Oregon
    #10
    Just installed Lion Dev Preview

    Just an FYI I Decided to install my dev copy of lion last night on my macbook pro and my windows 7 bootcamp partition is still intact but will not boot nor will it give me the option to. I am looking into this but so far all I can figure is that you may have to do a wipe and re-install a fresh copy through Lion's bootcamp utility. I will keep you posted.
     
  11. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    #11
    I have the same issue of not being able to boot from my Windows 7 partition...
     
  12. macrumors regular

    ron1004

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Location:
    Louisville, KY
    #12
    Lion install corrupted my Bootcamp partition, and I now get a Windows XP error stating that the boot sector is corrupt.
     
  13. macrumors 6502

    Justinf79

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Location:
    Oregon
    #13
    Fricken wonderful. :rolleyes:

    I have Bootcamp and rEFIt with Win7 on my machine atm. Afraid to upgrade because of this.
     
  14. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    #14
    When I erase the partition and install Lion, I can't choose "Customize" since it is invisible. How could i do that?
     
  15. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    #15
    Bootcamp 4

    did anyone expand out the bootcamp drivers for 4.0 and try that on windows prior to installing Lion.

    I too am in a holding pattern.
     
  16. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011
    #16
    I did a fresh install and had no problems with my Windows 7 partition post-install.
     
  17. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011
    #17
    Did you update/upgrade the bootcamp software on your windows partition first, - and then install Lion?

    Or did you simply install lion without changing or preparing anything in windows Bootcamp?
     
  18. ron1004, Jul 21, 2011
    Last edited: Jul 21, 2011

    macrumors regular

    ron1004

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Location:
    Louisville, KY
    #18
    I can boot to the BootCamp XP partition and all is good, but cannot start BootCamp from Parallels like I used to.

    I did a new XP install with Parallels and that works.

    Any suggestions to get the old Bootcamp working via Parallels would be much appreciated.

    Edit:

    Its sorted.

    In Parallels, select display VM's, then right click on the BootCamp VM, and select properties, then display the drive, and select the correct physical drive where the BootCamp resides.
     
  19. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011
    #19
  20. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    #20
    Flabbergasted

    Yesterday backed up my whole bootcamp 3.0 partition with WindowsXP-SP3 to prepare for the upgrade from SL to Lion.... I didn't remove my bootcamp partion prior to the upgrade to Lion

    Afterwards was planning to have to create a new bootcamp partition as Lion wouldn't probably be able to handle the bootcamp partition with WindowsXP on it.

    But after the upgrade to Lion was finished I thought let me try to start up the bootcamp partition with the option-key. And........ everything worked just fine....... huhhhhhhh....... what happend to Lion can only run Windows7?

    Just wanted to share this with you guys:)
     

Share This Page