Installing Mac OS X

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by afalltoarms, Aug 17, 2006.

  1. afalltoarms macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2006
    #1
    I have an iMac G5 and an iBook SE (Mac OS 9). I've been trying to install OS X on the iBook through Target Boot because my iBook's cd drive is broken. It installs fine but when I try to run the iBook, the question mark folder with the finder comes up and doesn't go away. I've cleared the HD, tried again and it happened again. Does the iBook not have enough RAM, what is causing this?
     
  2. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #2
    How much RAM does it have? You're not trying to use the OSX discs that came with the iMac, are you?
     
  3. afalltoarms thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2006
    #3
    No, I'm not using the iMac discs. And about the RAM, I'm not sure. I can't get that info anymore since I can't do anythign with it. It's been a while since I got this computer.
     
  4. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #4
    Okay, cool. What version of OSX are you using? :)
     
  5. afalltoarms thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2006
  6. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #6
    Okay well all but the original iBook should be able to run Tiger. I'm not familiar with the SE but if it was one of the first batch of Clamshells then I'm afraid Tiger won't work. The latest release of Panther would work though.
     
  7. afalltoarms thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2006
    #7
    I think it's one of the newer ones, it's the firewire iBook.
     
  8. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #8
    Well then it should work if you have at least 256MB of RAM. Maybe install OS9 momentarily, just to check you have enough RAM.
     
  9. slooksterPSV macrumors 68030

    slooksterPSV

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Location:
    Nowheresville
    #9
    Here's how I did it, I started the iBook G3 up in Target Disk mode and booted into the DVD via the iBook G4 - since I had a Firewire cable attached connecting the iBook G3 and G4 the G4 in OS X install could see the drive. I just chose that drive when installing OS X to install OS X to. After everything was done - setting up accounts, etc. etc. etc. I shut down the iBook G4 and shutdown the G3. When I started up the G3 I held the ALT key and made sure OS X partition was found and loaded that up. After that loaded everything just worked.
     
  10. afalltoarms thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2006
    #10
    Ok, I tried that and a picture of a HD came up with an X circle. I clicked on it and I didn't do anything, so then I hit enter and it went away. What now?
     
  11. slooksterPSV macrumors 68030

    slooksterPSV

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Location:
    Nowheresville
    #11
    Repair your hard drive, it could have some issues, also repair permissions.

    You can repair the drive in Single User mode
    CMD+S before the chime - I recommend doing this then restarting.
     
  12. afalltoarms thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2006
    #12
    I didn't see anything about repairing a HD and the ALT Power Button screen was slow, I guess my iBook doesn't have enough RAM.
     
  13. slooksterPSV macrumors 68030

    slooksterPSV

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Location:
    Nowheresville
    #13
    Tiger requires minimum of 256MB of RAM, how much does it have?

    EDIT: A G5 version of OS X will make the G4's and G3's run really slow.
     

Share This Page