Installing Memory Problem Imac G5

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by StudioAKT Conor, Feb 4, 2006.

  1. StudioAKT Conor macrumors newbie

    StudioAKT Conor

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    #1
    Hey guys,

    I had a problem with this memory stick im trying to install, I thought I would get some insight on what the problem could be.

    I have a 1.9Ghz iMac G5, I bought it right before the Intel ones came out. I was given an unopened 512MB PC4200 533 DDR2 stick from a friend of mine who wasnt using it since he upgraded to a 1gb and was given this unopened stick of ram with his order for reasons unknown, so I ended up with it for free. Cant beat that.

    I installed the memory through the memory slot at the bottom as manual shows, machine turned on fine, but never recognized the memory as being there. DIMM1 slot kept telling me Empty. I tried this 3 or 4 different times thinking that I installed it wrong.

    Searching around, it is very hard to find specific information on what ram is compatible with this machine, or maybe I'm just looking in the wrong place?

    Here are the exact specifications on the stick itself:
    512MB 1RX8 PC2-4200U-444-12-D0
    512MB, DDR2, 533, CL4

    Maybe this is for the intel Imacs? I'm fairly new (2 months) to using a mac and havent used it long enough to know enough about the hardware aspects of it.

    Does anyone have any insight on what the problem might be, or if this stick is not compatible with this mac?

    Thanks in advance for any help.
     
  2. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #2
    Those are the right nominal specs... but we can't tell if that specific module is Mac compatible or not. Coincidentally, we have one customer who experienced the exact same problem on Thursday, which we haven't isolated yet. 512 Mb DIMM, no show. If the RAM were simply incompatible or defective, we'd expect the machine to beep three times at boot.

    The usual answer is that the RAM is not installed completely into the socket, but in both your cases you have tried it several times.

    Keep us posted what you find out.
     
  3. cgratti macrumors 6502a

    cgratti

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Location:
    Central Pennsylvania, USA
    #3
    Take out the stick that came with the mac and install just your new stick and see what happens. Does it boot, beep, or recognize that ram by itself?

    if it doesn,t try it in the other slot by itself...
     
  4. StudioAKT Conor thread starter macrumors newbie

    StudioAKT Conor

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    #4
    Okay, I truly feel like an idiot right now.

    It works, it was my fault, I wasnt pushing the stick in far enough. I guess i was just scared that I would damage something so i was a little to gentle with it all. I thought that the stick was initially installed because the rings went in with the stick and i heard a little click, but it still wasnt in enough.

    So this time i just pushed it in as far as it go and i felt it lock into place, and the rings as well.

    I was being dumb I guess. But im happy it's installed and recognized. :eek:

    Thanks for the help guys.
     
  5. cgratti macrumors 6502a

    cgratti

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Location:
    Central Pennsylvania, USA
    #5
    honest mistake... Glad it worked out for you... a lesson learned here...
     

Share This Page