installing more RAM . . should I backup first?

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by rikers_mailbox, Apr 12, 2005.

  1. rikers_mailbox macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2003
    Location:
    LA-la-land
    #1
    Zippidy-doo-dah.

    The mail gods delivered my 512 Mb memory upgrade (for my PB) from Crucial today. Can't wait to install it. . .

    Should I bother backing up before hand. . . or can I install without worry?
     
  2. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #2
    Chances are the upgrade will do nothing to your data, even if there's an error (with the installing or the RAM), but I would NEVER do any surgery on my Macs without backing up those data I cannot afford to lose... Remember Murphy's Law...
     
  3. JzzTrump22 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Location:
    New York
    #3
    I would back up my data if i put new ram in. You never know if you get a bad stick. JUst to be on the safe side, the ram could be corrupted and not boot right and cause your computer to get all messed up.
     
  4. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #4
    Tomorrow is Wednesday

    - you should have a current backup.
     
  5. rikers_mailbox thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2003
    Location:
    LA-la-land
    #5
    ????

    Not sure what that means, but I decided to be patient and back everything up. Done. Now my trusty 12" 1.33 GHz PowerBook is purring with 768 Mb memory under the hood!! :D

    It's running happy. (wait... computers have emotions, right?)
     

Share This Page