Installing on XP Pro Without Service Packs

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by kainjow, Apr 5, 2006.

  1. Moderator emeritus

    kainjow

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2000
    #1
    I was able to get XP Pro without any service packs successfully installed and all *necessary* drivers installed. Only problem I came across was getting SP2 to install. It gives an error about insufficient disk space, and I have 10GB left.. Googled it and nothing found.

    Anyways, the way I did it was a combination of running the installer, extracting the items from the temporary .msi file the installer copies from my other PC, getting temporary internet connection via my Mac with shared FireWire, downloading a weird USB driver file, and using AirPort.

    It was quite an adventure, but everything I've managed to do can't get rid of the SP2 error. I even downloaded the non-Windows update exe, but that gives same error.

    But, graphics work, FireWire works, USB works, AirPort works, ethernet works, all without SP2 :D
     
  2. Moderator emeritus

    grapes911

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Location:
    Citizens Bank Park
    #2
  3. Moderator emeritus

    SilentPanda

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Bamboo Forest
    #3
    I did this earlier today and can confirm that it does work if you do this. It "converts" a Windows XP SP1 to Windows XP SP2 disc. My final disc size was around 850 MB so I actually ended up making a bootable DVD instead of CD. Still worked.
     
  4. macrumors 6502a

    kylos

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2002
    Location:
    MI
    #4
    I installed XP without SP2, since I didn't have it available. The MacDrivers disk kept hanging when it got to a component requiring USB 2.0 (usbehci.sys). I'm in the process of downloading SP 2 on Mac OS X since networking is apparently not supported without the MacDrivers, and copying it to the Windows partition since it's Fat 32. After installing SP 2, I hope to be able to install the macdrivers without a problem.
     
  5. thread starter Moderator emeritus

    kainjow

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2000
    #5
    Had the same problem with usbehci.sys. Get it here: http://members.driverguide.com/driver/detail.php?driverid=123003 (requires free registration). Then, put it on your Desktop or somewhere easily accessible. When that dialog comes back up in the installation, select that file. It will then give you better USB drivers and it should install your FireWire drivers also. You then can access the internet by connecting a FW cable to your Mac and sharing your internet connection :)

    But, you still won't get internet access via AirPort or ethernet. That takes some more hacking :)
     
  6. macrumors 6502a

    kylos

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2002
    Location:
    MI
    #6
    I plan on installing SP2, so I really don't want to bother with hunting down drivers. However, SP2 is giving me grief about my product key not being valid. Not sure if that has to do with the source of my XP disk (free msdnaa download through my school), or that I didn't bother to register (the installer said it was optional), or some other MS nonsense. In any case, I have a little more work to do to get it running right.
     
  7. macrumors regular

    pincho

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #7
    just curious, did anyone find a solution to the topic problem? im having the same error message about insufficient disk space.
     
  8. MRU
    macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #8
    have ye tried allocating more?
     
  9. macrumors regular

    pincho

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #9
    i gave windows 17gb and the error reports saying it needs something like 4mb:D
     
  10. macrumors 6502

    Vaphoron

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2004
    Location:
    Maryland
    #10
    I was able to install Windows XP using my original disc with no service packs but I wasn't able to finish installing the Apple drivers and I couldn't update to SP2 because I was getting the same insufficient disc space error. I was finally able to download and install the SP1 update, DirectX9, IsoBuster, and the Nero 7 demo and followed the Slipstreaming instructions exactly to create a SP2 install disc and everything has gone great. It takes some time but as long as you follow the directions exactly, it is very easy.
     

Share This Page