installing OS X on a g4

Discussion in 'Mac Help/Tips' started by jvaska, May 27, 2002.

  1. jvaska macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2002
    Location:
    Haiti/NYC
    #1
    ok...i'm going to install OS X on my G4/400...i was going to wait maybe another year, but not after i got wise and learned about some of the linux/php/mysql things i can tackle...

    i thought i would just buy a new hard drive and start from square one...

    one thing i've heard a couple times though is that OS X/9.2 will render some of my RAM unusable...has anybody experienced this? apparently, it had something to do with a firmware upgrade or something...

    also...since i'll have three drives in my computer...should i do anything with the two old drives to make them work with OS X better? i've never been clear on this exactly...do i need to do anything with the slave drives (aside from moving pins around)...or will it be perfectly fine just to leave them as they are...(i'll need the one drive though just in case something goes haywire with installation)...

    anything else i should think about before i install?

    thanks for the tips...jv
     
  2. King Cobra macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2002
    #2
    I checked on a computer memory website www.18004memory.com and it displayed that the firmware update issue is resolved with their memory.

    As for your question with Hard Drive pins, I currently am not available to answer that. But just so you know, if you purchased memory recently from these guys, it should work properly in your computer.
    __________________

    Fear the King.
     
  3. AlphaTech macrumors 601

    AlphaTech

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2001
    Location:
    Natick, MA
    #3
    I'd say just take the drive that has OS 9 on it now (or 8.x) and update it to 9.2.2 and THEN install OS X. The ONLY time OS X will do anything with your memory is if you purchased inferiour/cheap memory. One case where you are best off NOT going the cheap route.

    Is your G4 400 using the Yikes or Sawtooth motherboard??? If you have a Sawtooth (AGP) then you don't have much to worry about. Make sure you DO NOT have any Microtec RAM installed (that is cheap crappy memory with a silver sticker with black type on it).

    Make sure your hard drive has about 2GB of free space, so that you can both install and run OSX well. If you have anything under 256MB of RAM (or even 512MB) I'd say get some more. I'd even go as far as maxing out your memory to 1.5GB. I did that on my G4 500 tower and OS X ran like a dream. Even OS 9.2.2 ran better.
     
  4. Hemingray macrumors 68030

    Hemingray

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Location:
    Ha ha haaa!
    #4
    So what happens if he has a PCI graphics G4? I installed OS X and 9.2 on mine and everything's been running just fine... with the exception that the Yikes mobo won't recognize more than 256MB per DIMM... :(
     
  5. jvaska thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2002
    Location:
    Haiti/NYC
    #5
    how do i tell if i have yikes or sawtooth? i've never understood what these terms meant...although i see you guys discussing it much...

    i'm already on 9.2.2...that's good news...

    thanks for that info about the ram...now i can look into...if i recall properly...all my ram was purchased from apple directly...

    jv
     
  6. sparkleytone macrumors 68020

    sparkleytone

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2001
    Location:
    Greensboro, NC
    #6
    yikes is the PCI-video version of the g4 tower. its basically a modified g3 board.

    the sawtooth is the agp-video g4.
     

Share This Page