Installing OS X on my new 7200rpm MacBook hdd: how?! No destination volume listed...

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by iHeartTheApple, Jun 2, 2006.

  1. iHeartTheApple macrumors 6502

    iHeartTheApple

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2006
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #1
    Ok, so I have replaced my stock MacBook hdd with a new Seagate Momentus 7200rpm hdd from OWC along with a set of 2GB of RAM. When I inserted the Tiger disc1 and started the computer up, it gave all the normal options for installing OS X. Then, when I got to the part where I needed to select a destination volume, there are no volumes to select! :eek: :confused:

    I used system profiler and disk utility to verify that both the hard drive and the ram were up and running and recognized. Unfortunately, I'm kinda stuck here...:eek: I've never replaced a laptop hdd, but I followed Apple's directions and this is where I am. I suspect it must have to do with me needing to format the new disk, but I'm not sure how to do that...Any help would be greatly appreciated, as I am typing this right now next to my MB that can't move past the "Select a destination volume" screen.

    Thanks for the help! :)
     
  2. jelloshotsrule macrumors G3

    jelloshotsrule

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Location:
    serendipity
    #2
    if you can get disk utility to verify it... can you try to reformat it within disk utility as well? i assume you've attempted to start up more than once and still not found it listed as a target volume? hmm

    it certainly is strange that it's there, but doesn't show up to be installed to. i'd format it, if you can.
     
  3. Bullers macrumors newbie

    Bullers

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    #3
    Don't you have to create a partition, and then when you do that it will allow you to format the partition? I'm new to macs, but I read that somewhere.

    You can create a partition in disk utility.
     
  4. jelloshotsrule macrumors G3

    jelloshotsrule

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Location:
    serendipity
    #4
    you don't have to make partitions (well i guess one partition is still a partition, but you don't have to make multiple partitions), but it does seem like the drive needs to be formatted. disk utility should handle that and then i'd imagine it'll be good to go.
     
  5. iHeartTheApple thread starter macrumors 6502

    iHeartTheApple

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2006
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #5
    Yep, I just found another post that describes how to do it, but not sure about the formatting/partitioning thing. I'm giving it a try right now...Stupid me, I should have searched the forums more before posting this.:eek: :(

    EDIT: It's working now...sorry for the rediculous post...delete it if you'd like. :)
     
  6. Sun Baked macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #6
    You will need to use Disk Utility to format the drive, sorry I don't have a link to give you all the choices you will need to make if you plan on running Bootcamp.

    However, you will need to format the drive to add the HFS+ file system to the drive.
     
  7. Bullers macrumors newbie

    Bullers

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    #7
    What did you do in the end?
     
  8. iHeartTheApple thread starter macrumors 6502

    iHeartTheApple

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2006
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #8
    I booted the computer from the OS X install disc1, then used Disk Utility->Partition to make one partition (the entire drive) called Macintosh HD formatted in the regular OS X format (extended journaled? can't remember the name, atm). Once that was done, the Macintosh HD volume showed up on the "select a destination" screen instantly...no reboot was required. Then I installed OS X like usual. :) Thanks for all the help!
     

Share This Page