Installing OSX on an old 8600?

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by 173080, Mar 18, 2004.

  1. 173080 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2003
    #1
    I received an old PowerMac 8600 because it wasnt being used anymore.
    It works, I've fired it up in OS9 but it's too unstable for my taste. I made the OS lock up over 4 times in a matter of hours.
    I've thought about installing OSX on it, but I dont know if it's even possible or which version would be best to install on it.

    The system has a Radeon 7000 Video Card and 512MB RAM.

    Any ideas? :D
     
  2. dukemeiser macrumors 6502a

    dukemeiser

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Location:
    Iowa
    #2
    I know it is not officially supported by Apple for Panther, which requires built-in USB. I'm not sure about previous OS X. What version of OS 9 is on it? The most current version is 9.2.2, and if you don't have that you probably need to upgrade it.

    Even if you could get OS X to run on it, it would be slower than my 90 year old grandma.
     
  3. rainman::|:| macrumors 603

    rainman::|:|

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2002
    Location:
    iowa
    #3
    there's a hack for this, something you do to the installer script or something, to get X onto unsupported Macs. i can't think of the name, and i'm not nice enough to go look it up. Google it. Don't know if it supports panther tho, last i knew it was jag-- then again, this was a while ago.

    paul
     
  4. MisterMe macrumors G4

    MisterMe

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    USA
    #4
    The most recent version of MacOS 9 that the PowerMac 8600 supports is MacOS 9.1. You can install MacOS X on this machine if you use XpostFacto.
     
  5. 12ibookg4 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    #5
  6. evil_santa macrumors 6502a

    evil_santa

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Location:
    London, England
    #6
    I had 10.2 installed on my 7600 using XPostFacto. Worked fine but was quite slow. The 7600 had a 400mhz g3 upgrade, usb & firewire cards that all worked. I think the only problems was i couldnt use my printer through the serial port and the CD drive wouldnt work in osX, I had to install it an external CD burner. It was more stable than 9.1 !!!!! I seem to recall it taking 4 or 5 hours to install! I got a feeling you might have to have a g3/g4 card or better installed.
     
  7. jeremy.king macrumors 603

    jeremy.king

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Fuquay Varina, NC
    #7
    Depending on your needs, you could consider a flavor of Linux for PPC (YDL, Debian, and Gentoo all have PPC distros - I think).
     
  8. tiktokfx macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2003
    Location:
    DC Metropolitan Area
    #8
    If it's locking up that frequently with a clean OS 9 install, it's more likely hardware problems than the OS, assuming it's not some specific applications that are locking up. Malfunctioning RAM is the most likely cause.
     
  9. tiktokfx macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2003
    Location:
    DC Metropolitan Area
    #9
    Also, it could be the ATI drivers. I always seemed to have issues with OS 9 with Radeon 7000s when the ATI Graphics Acceleration extension was enabled.
     
  10. blue&whiteman macrumors 65816

    blue&whiteman

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    #10

    you need a G3 or G4 upgrade first before xpostfacto will work. xpostfacto does allow osx installs on unsupported machines but osx still needs a min. of a G3 cpu to run. it will not run on a 604 or 603 or any other cpu. you need a G3/G4/G5 to run osx period, no matter what mac it is.
     
  11. dukemeiser macrumors 6502a

    dukemeiser

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Location:
    Iowa
    #11
    And if you're considering getting a CPU upgrade, you might rethink that. You could put that money toward a newer Mac. I know it's fun to upgrade an old Mac, but trust me. It isn't worth it when you're done.
     
  12. 173080 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2003
    #12
    Yeah, that's what I was thinking, I didnt know I needed a CPU upgrade card. Maybe I should just load up Linux on it :cool:
     
  13. mms macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    Location:
    CA
    #13
    I believe the requirements for 9.2.2 were the same for that of OS X, so 9.1 would be the highest you could go. Even if you did get OS X workin somehow, it would be very slow and hardly suitable for use. I would second the recommendation for installing Linux.
     

Share This Page