Installing Panther on iBook 500mhz (64mb RAM)

Discussion in 'macOS' started by ion, Apr 5, 2006.

  1. ion macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #1
    Hi,

    I was just about to order some extra RAM (512mb)for this ibook G3 500mhz (only has 64mb at the moment) I got so I can run Panther, however, I thought before ordering it, I'd check if the Panther install CDs would work.. I was just curious..

    So i popped it in the CD drive, clicked on Install OSX and the ibook restarted.. but it didn't start the Panther installation.. instead it booted normally into 10.0.3 (I even held down 'c' whilst restarting).

    I kinda expected this as it does say 'at least 128mb of memory' on the PDF... am I right in thinking it won't even try to install Panther if theres only 64mb of RAM?

    I didn't wanna shell out for the extra RAM and find out Panther wouldn't install anyway.. hehe.. method to my madness ;)

    Any tips/opinions would be appreciated.

    Thanks,

    ian
     
  2. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #2
    Where did you get Panther from? Is it a copy that was bundled with another machine because if so, it probably won't work. :(
     
  3. ion thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #3

    hey,

    its a retail copy, not bundled with a machine.

    i got a reply from another forum saying that osx will not install in any machine with less than 128mb ram.. maybe thats just it.
     
  4. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
  5. dmw007 macrumors G4

    dmw007

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Location:
    Working for MI-6
    #5
    Yep, slap some more RAM into your iBook G3 and then you should be able to install Mac OS X. :)
     
  6. tdhurst macrumors 68040

    tdhurst

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #6
    Yeah, but...

    You sure the 500mhz iBook G3s had DVD drives?


    Edit...whoops, just reread your post.
     
  7. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #7
    Fair enough. I would think that Apple would still let you boot from the OSX disks though.
     
  8. ITASOR macrumors 601

    ITASOR

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Location:
    Oneida, NY
    #8
    booting from it makes a ram disk though I think, so you would still need ram
     
  9. ion thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #9
    Sorted!

    I put more RAM into the iBook and it installed Panther alright :)

    Thanks again.
     

Share This Page