Installing Photoshop on 64 bits and switching to 32 on Lion

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by lionnewbie, Aug 12, 2011.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011
    #1
    Hi,

    I will be installing photoshop CS5 on my new macbook air i5.

    As some of you may be aware, Lion and I believe Leopard run as 64 bit operating systems, but apparently you can switch easily to 32 bits by rebooting the machine and holding down the keys 2 and 3.

    My question is, have any of you installed Photoshop CS5 on lion yet, and can you please let me know if you can run Photoshop when the operating system is running at 32 bits?

    And don't worry about needing to do anything to switch back to 64. It does it automatically once you reboot again after being in 32 bit mode.


    The reason I ask is because I run some special work related programs that only run while the OS is set to 32, so I want to know if it is possible to run Photoshop irrespective of how you are running Lion.

    Thanks so much for your info.
     
  2. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    #2
    I'm actually thinking of going lighter and using the slim PS on the Mac App Store.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011
    #3
    Which features are missing from that version when compared to the full version you can download from the adobe site?
     
  4. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    #4
    I just checked the App Store, and I do not see any versions of Photoshop on there. What are you seeing?
     
  5. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2011
  6. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    #6
    Correct me if I am wrong, but I remember reading somewhere that the PSE on the App store is a cut down version of elements.
     
  7. macrumors demi-god

    xraydoc

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Location:
    192.168.1.1
    #7
    From another thread I see you're buying a MacBook Air.

    You should know that, as far as I've read, Lion runs full-time as a 64-bit kernel. If you have software that runs only on a 32-bit kernel, you better make sure it's Lion compatible. AFAIK there is no 32-bit kernel on Lion.

    And the new MBAs only run Lion.

    I could be wrong, but it sounds like you'll need to check it out.

    ----------

    I think it's missing the photo organizer module. They're presuming the buyer will be using iPhoto for that functionality.
     
  8. macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #8

    Photoshop CS5 will run as a 64-bit app even on a 32-bit kernel, so you don't need to do anything with it. Most applications don't directly interact with the kernel.
     
  9. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2012
    #9
    You can switch Photoshop CS5 to 32 bit on Lion to work with plug-ins such as vertus. You also need to run it in 32-bit mode if you want to use the Exposure slider in Photoshop (not in RAW, that runs at 64-bit). I've done it. It doesn't switch back to 64-bit when you restart the computer, at least not on my iMac nor on my Macbook Pro - both running Lion and CS5.
     
  10. macrumors 6502a

    Beanoir

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2010
    Location:
    51 degrees North
    #10

    My CS5 exposure slider works fine, and I don't ever run it in 32bit....and thats on my MBA and my iMac...:confused:
     

Share This Page