Installing RAM in new Powerbook G4

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by rbro, Jan 25, 2004.

  1. rbro macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2003
    #1
    Got a new 15" Powerbook which came with 512 mb RAM (2-256mb modules) and I just ordered two 512mb modules. How difficult is it to change this myself? I've done it before on my older powerbook G3. The manual talks about the upper slot only. Is it difficult to get to the lower slot?
     
  2. virividox macrumors 601

    virividox

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2003
    Location:
    Manila - Nottingham - Philadelphia - Santa Barbar
    #2
    its really easy. the reason they dont talk about the lower slot is they assume its already filled with ram. but u should head over to the apple website where it will give you detailed diagrams of installing ram on ur new powerbook
     
  3. rbro thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2003
  4. James Craner macrumors 68000

    James Craner

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2002
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    #4
    I have the Al 15". Getting access to both RAM slots is very easy. Open the access door underneath the Powerbook and you will have access to both. When you remove the upper RAM you get access to the lower RAM.
     
  5. rbro thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2003
  6. Grimace macrumors 68040

    Grimace

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2003
    Location:
    with Hamburglar.
    #6
    Apple even has a detailed diagram on their "support" website - just don't jam things in their too hard.
     

Share This Page