Installing Tiger

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by mykg4orce, Aug 2, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mykg4orce macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2005
    #1
    I have four install dmg files for mac os x tiger. They are labelled Disc 1 through 4. about 2gbs in total. I have these files on my PC. I have burned so many different copies of them but none of them boot on start up. The install app opens fine in mac os x (10.2.8) but when the dialogue asks me to restart...well it just reboots into os x again....

    I have burned the first cd (Disc 1) with different programs and by using different methods but no luck.

    I am wondering is this installation suppose to be compiled into a dvd? before I can burn it??
     
  2. macmanmatty macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2005
    Location:
    I have calculated my velocity so precisely that a
    #2
    DMg's are disk Images which can't boot at start up. Also you can't install tiger on a pc you need a mac to do that.
     
  3. SLCentral macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    Location:
    Princeton, NJ/Ithaca, NY
  4. Duff-Man macrumors 68030

    Duff-Man

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Location:
    Albuquerque, NM
    #4
    Duff-Man says....hmmmm....something tells me you are not doing anything legitimate here....and asking for help with pirating is against forum rules......oh yeah!
     
  5. xsedrinam macrumors 601

    xsedrinam

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    #5
    :sigh: Is it just three things, or am I too simplistic?
    1-out right, unashamed piracy?
    2-innocent, novice (piracy)?
    3-unshamed piracy and preconcieved notion that the whole of the MS Community is naive?
    x
     
  6. mykg4orce thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2005
    #6
    First of all...I am not installing mac os on a pc.....If you read my post in the first place you would read, "The install app opens fine in mac os x (10.2.8) but when the dialogue asks me to restart...well it just reboots into os x again" So exactly how could I boot into os x if according to you I am installing it on a pc? lol

    Secondly this question doesnt have to do with piracy, it has to do with how to properly burn a mac os disc image on a pc so that it is usable on a mac.


    And no I did not burn the .dmg file directly to a cd. I used different programs to open the image file on the pc and then burned it so that it opens up fine in mac os. But when I click "Install Mac OS X" it pops up a dialogue box that has the "Restart" button on it. Well when I click this button it reboots the system...with no affect.

    Thank you.
     
  7. stridey macrumors 65816

    stridey

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    Location:
    Massachusetts, Connecticut
    #7
    The point is, if you weren't pirating Tiger you'd actually have the dvd, and not just the dmg files. We're not going to help you.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page