Installing Vista on MacBook right now, need help

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by EricNau, Aug 18, 2006.

  1. EricNau Moderator emeritus

    EricNau

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #1
    OK, I used bootcamp, started installing Windows Vista, entered my product key, but now I don't know which partition to choose. :confused: :eek:

    I have a list like this (Italics mine):

    Disk 0 Partition 1 - Total Size: 200 MB
    Disk 0 Partition 2 - Total Size: 45 GB (OS X partition)
    Disk 0 Unallocated Space - Total Size: 128 MB
    Disk 0 Partition 3 - Total Size: 10.6 GB (This is the partition the bootcamp made for Windows)



    So, what partition do I chose? I read on This Guide that I should delete some?

    Now I'm confused. :confused: Can anyone help me? :eek:

    Thanks :)
     
  2. EricNau thread starter Moderator emeritus

    EricNau

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #2
    OK, well, I may have done something stupid.

    Instead of deleting anything I just picked the 10 GB partition and hit install. Am I going to regret this later?

    Deleting just seemed so... ummm... permanent.
     
  3. xparaparafreakx macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    #3
    Your going to be fine. If things are still wrong. Post back and ill help you. I installed vista 7 times on 4 machines.
     
  4. EricNau thread starter Moderator emeritus

    EricNau

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #4
    OK, I guess I should have deleted those partitions.

    After the install I got the message:

    Windows did not start correctly. A recent hardware or software change might be the cause.

    If you have a Windows installation disk, insert the disc and restart your computer. Click system recovery options, and then choose a recovery tool. (Startup Repair, available in some versions of Windows, can automatically diagnose and fix startup problems.)

    If you do not have this disc, contact your system administrator or computer manufacturer for assistance.


    File: \windows\system32\winload.exe

    Status: 0xc0000225

    Info: The selected entry could not be loaded because the application is missing or corrupt.​



    I tried inserting the disk and restarting (while holding option, then I selected the Windows DVD). That just led to the Windows Vista install prompt. Next I tried selecting "Windows," but that led to the same error message (above).
     
  5. EricNau thread starter Moderator emeritus

    EricNau

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #5
    OK, this time I tried following the instructions in the guide I mentioned in the first post, but that didn't work either.

    I delete the extra partitions, created a new one, selected that partition for the installation, but received the error "Windows could not locate a locally attached drive to temporarily store setup files" ...or something along those lines.

    :confused:
     
  6. EricNau thread starter Moderator emeritus

    EricNau

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #6
    For what it's worth, now in OS X, right under Macintosh HD I have another Hard Drive labeled "Untitled." It is formated as "Windows NT Filesystem" and is about 10 GB; inside there is a folder named "$WINDOWS.~BT." This must be the partition I created from the Windows Installer.?

    Why won't it let me install Windows?
     
  7. imacintel macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    #7
    You must delete the 200 MB partition.

    Also, try deleting the 128 MB partiton. you will be fine aftwer that.:D
     
  8. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #8
    At this stage I'd say restore your HD to 1 partition reformatted in GUID partition table and start again.

    But this time ..... Follow the instructions ..... You delete the 200mb parition only....
     
  9. EricNau thread starter Moderator emeritus

    EricNau

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #9
    Thanks guys, I got it to install. I actually didn't do anything different, so I'm not sure why it didn't work the second time.

    Now if I could just figure out how to install those Mac drivers...
     
  10. EricNau thread starter Moderator emeritus

    EricNau

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #10
    OK, another problem (big surprise).

    I'm trying to follow the instructions this time, but it's not working. I'm trying to install the Mac drivers from the bootcamp CD. The guide said to enter-
    “Install Macintosh Drivers for Windows XP.exe” /A /v into the run window, but that just starts the installer.

    What am I doing wrong?
     
  11. jmmo20 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2006
    #11
    I'd say don't delete any partions... the 128mb/200mb partitions are there on purpose, they're supposed to store the computers serial number and other parameters.. so i'd say .. wait until vista is finally a product. Deleting your Mac's system is not the way to go to get Vista installed. AFAIK.
     
  12. EricNau thread starter Moderator emeritus

    EricNau

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #12
    I wasn't too thrilled about deleting any partitions either, but I figured I can't do any real damage because a total reformat is just one click away. I am trying to install Vista because I don't have a spare XP license lying around and I don't feel like spending $100 on a OS that will be replaced in a matter of months.
     
  13. EricNau thread starter Moderator emeritus

    EricNau

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #13
    OK, got the drivers extracted from the CD, so now I install the drivers manually, right? (By "manually," I mean using Device Manager to find inoperative devices, then reinstalling the drivers by telling it to search specific folders.)

    This has worked for some of the devices, but others it hasn't (Windows won't find any compatible drivers). What do I do?
     
  14. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #14
    Depending on what you actually intend to do with this OS, this seems like an odd choice. You actually intend to run a new MS OS before SP1? Living dangerously. ;) [Same is true for releases of OS X, wait for .1]

    Anyhow, from all I have read, and been told by those who have tried it. Vista is the least compatible version of Windows, which means that a lot of stuff that works on XP doesn't on Vista, and I've heard that the stability of Beta 2 is well, Beta 2 like.

    B
     
  15. EricNau thread starter Moderator emeritus

    EricNau

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #15
    I only need Windows for one program, so assuming it works that's all that matters.

    ...And that's all true about Vista. Actually, the worst problems in Vista are features that are working correctly. ;)
     
  16. tominated macrumors 68000

    tominated

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    Location:
    Queensland, Australia
    #16
    Lol!

    lol:D
     
  17. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #17
    Drivers. You should really follow instructions from the other posts, if in doubt - search.


    YOU DO NOT use the drivers from the bootcamp. They are for XP only.

    You need to connect your mac to the internet via ETHERNET cable and run windows update.

    This will install Airport drivers etc for you.

    As for graphics.

    You need to go into system profile / device manager and select Intel Lakeport drivers manually.

    These threads should be read.

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=207908&highlight=aero+on+macbook

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=208063&highlight=aero+on+macbook
     
  18. EricNau thread starter Moderator emeritus

    EricNau

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #18
    Thanks. I've actually read through both of those threads, but I guess not good enough.

    I really was trying to follow directions, and since it said to manually install the sound card drivers, I assumed you did the same with all of them (guess I'm thinking to hard). I think the two that did install from the xp drivers on the disk were the iSight and Airport drivers.

    I'll try playing around with the graphics drivers but I don't think it'll help much, I have 512 RAM.

    I'll try updating, I didn't realize that would help with drivers.

    Thanks again!
     

Share This Page