Installing x11 on 10.4 without the discs

Discussion in 'macOS' started by cmm, Feb 11, 2007.

  1. cmm macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Location:
    Manhattan & Zürich
    #1
  2. compuwar macrumors 601

    compuwar

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2006
    Location:
    Northern/Central VA
    #2
    I'd see if I could order a replacement dsk assuming X11 really isn't installed on the system. Otherwise, you can use fink to install XFree86 or X.org.
     
  3. XmacgeniusX macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    Location:
    California
    #3
    the latest full version you can download is 1.0. If it says you already have it installed, try running this update:

    http://www.apple.com/support/downloads/x11update2006113.html

    If the problem still continues, you can always try re-installing the Developer Tools which you can download from apple's developer section on their website (http://developer.apple.com/). If you don't already have an account, create one. Then you can download the complete Developer Tools installer.
     
  4. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #4
    The Dev Tools has the X11SDK in it, but does it have the X11 runtime environment?
     
  5. pna macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 27, 2005
    #5
    This is a problem that hit me when I first installed tiger, and I'm surprised that they haven't fixed it yet. The version that they used to have up for download used to be older than the one on the tiger discs, and would fail in exactly the way you described, even if you didn't have X11 installed at all. The only solution I ever found was to actually use the Tiger disc, which isn't much of a help to you.

    It gets installed from the dvd using the master installer, so I'm not sure how easy it'd be to just lift the files from the dvd. You might want to write apple support and just see what they say about sending you the needed files.
     
  6. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #6
    Well... it's not exactly a bug. They posted it originally, as far as I know, because it was released mid-cycle (between major releases of OS X) as a user application. But now it is an optional install on the OS X discs and has been for some time. Should Apple post every add-on installation from the Tiger DVD on their website under the assumption that everyone will lose their discs?
     
  7. woodyiii macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    #7

Share This Page