instant messenger on ps3? OSX on ps3?

Discussion in 'Games' started by aholden12592, Jan 26, 2007.

  1. aholden12592 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    #1
    is there any way to get an instant messenger on ps3? Also, can Mac OSX be installed onto the ps3?
     
  2. Counterfit macrumors G3

    Counterfit

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Location:
    sitting on your shoulder
    #2
    IM: Not to my knowledge (but if there is, I hope you have a keyboard).
    OS X: probably not, and why would you bother, besides the zOMG OS X ON A PS 3!!11!!1!1!6 factor?
     
  3. aholden12592 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    #3
    lol. that would be fun. i have a keyboard. it would be nice though to switch from watching tv to chatting with someone.
     
  4. GimmeSlack12 macrumors 603

    GimmeSlack12

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #4
    Install Yellow Dog Linux (YDL) and you can do AIM, MSN, Yahoo, whatever you want, and it's built-in.

    Installing YDL is pretty easy so I recommend giving it a shot. I just watched a movie tonight through VLC on my PS3. After downloading the movie and sending the movie file from my Mac to the PS3. Pretty sweet :D

    EDIT: And I use a wireless keyboard and mouse. Works like a charm! Just make sure you use the GNOME Session as it is most user-friendly. Don't know how or have questions just let'em rip cause I was a noob on all of this stuff and have finally gotten the hang of it.
     
  5. greatdevourer macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2005
    #5
    You will probably never get OSX onto a PS3, and certainly not to a usable state

    As for IMing... www.meebo.com ?
     
  6. Dagless macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Fighting to stay in the EU
  7. paddy macrumors 6502a

    paddy

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2005
    Location:
    TN
    #7
    Thats what I'm running it on and by god is it painful! :eek:
     
  8. Chone macrumors 65816

    Chone

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    #8
    About IM you could probably do it with a web based messenger client like Microsoft´s own web messenger or Ebuddy or IloveMSN.
     
  9. grapes911 Moderator emeritus

    grapes911

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Location:
    Citizens Bank Park
    #9
    I have Gentoo on my PS3. It runs pretty fast and stable. I have gaim installed for IM.
     
  10. Coded-Dude macrumors 6502a

    Coded-Dude

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    #10
    in theory you can install ANY OS with PPC support onto the PS3........
    (however some code woudl have to be re-compiled for hte hardware in order for anything to work)
     
  11. GimmeSlack12 macrumors 603

    GimmeSlack12

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #11
    I hate answers like this.

    In theory I can fly, but I just am too damn heavy!
     
  12. GFLPraxis macrumors 604

    GFLPraxis

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2004
    #12

    Not true; the PS3 isn't standard PPC. You say some code would have to be recompiled, but it is impossible to recompile the code without access to the code.
     
  13. xparaparafreakx macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    #13
    You could install the following
    YDL 5 for Playstation 3 and Fedora Core 5

    People got Fedora Core 6 to install.

    After YDL 5, you can install Windows 2000 if you choose.
     
  14. Coded-Dude macrumors 6502a

    Coded-Dude

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    #14
    ;)
     
  15. greatdevourer macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2005
    #15
    They also said it'd run Windows if you wanted :rolleyes: Apple won't let it. Sony won't piss off Apple. Not gonna happen
     
  16. Coded-Dude macrumors 6502a

    Coded-Dude

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    #16
    Wether or not its legal is not the point I am trying to make, nor is that fact that it would probably run rather sluggish with only 256MB RAM.
    The point is......IT'S POSSIBLE because of the CELL architecture.

    [EDIT] btw - its about as likely as saying APPLE hardware will never run windows. :p
     
  17. grapes911 Moderator emeritus

    grapes911

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Location:
    Citizens Bank Park
    #17
    Actually, my Gentoo install is pretty snappy. It's not a speed demon or anything but its probably faster and more responsive than the average home computer.
     
  18. 2nyRiggz macrumors 603

    2nyRiggz

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2005
    Location:
    Thank you Jah...I'm so Blessed
    #18
    ^How much disk space are you using for linux?...I'm thinking about giving it a shot.



    Bless
     
  19. Coded-Dude macrumors 6502a

    Coded-Dude

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    #19
    Yes, and my Yellow Dog is not bad either......however Tiger minimum requirements are 256MB RAM.
    That means it runs, but probably not as well as you would "like".

    I'm not using much...20GB at the most.
     
  20. grapes911 Moderator emeritus

    grapes911

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Location:
    Citizens Bank Park
    #20
    I partitioned about 10GB. I'm probably using under 4.
     

Share This Page