Instant messenger upgrades

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by enfuchan, Jul 14, 2004.

  1. enfuchan macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    #1
    Ok I want to know what in the HECK is wrong with companys such as yahoo msn and aim.... for the love of god if macs are so widely used then why in the HECK are we still using old outdated messenger versions when PC users are enjoying the good life with there new features and look GRRRRRRRRR.... ((i know msn released one not too long ago but my OS was just a little out dated... I mean how is it for OS 10.3 and I have 10.2 what the heck)) Anyways I think either the freaking computer companys need to merge and monpolize the world or these messenger companies need to keep mac users insync with the rest of the world..... If you can give me an explanation or agree or disagree with anything I said please press the issue
     
  2. BrianKonarsMac macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    #2
    hows about screw all of them? they make **** products, why use them? Use Adium, it works with all the services. It doesn't do video or voice, but I'm sure they are working on it. If you really need video or voice, you always have iChat.

    www.AdiumX.com
     
  3. stoid macrumors 601

    stoid

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2002
    Location:
    So long, and thanks for all the fish!
    #3
    I don't know if I would consider Macs to be "widely used" although a higher percentage of the Mac community is on the internet than the Windows community. I have never and will never use MSN or Yahoo messenger services. Another vote for Adium! :D

    BTW: Welcome to the forums! :)
     
  4. m.r.m. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2003
    Location:
    Germany
    #4
    why is it (adium) grouping aim and icq together? there is no place i can enter my icq number. most of my contacts use icq, so ichat is of very limited use to me. adium doesn't seem to support icq either (isn't mentioned in the faq), so i guess i have to stick with the crappy mac icq 3.4! :(

    i'd like icq support in ichat!
     
  5. Sabbath macrumors 6502a

    Sabbath

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2003
    Location:
    London
    #5

    AdiumX has Icq support I believe from just looking through the preferences, you can just add two AIM, ICQ, .mac accounts.
     
  6. m.r.m. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2003
    Location:
    Germany
    #6
    i don't get it. it puts both (icq and aim) in the same group in terms of adding contacts; i don't see the point. do i register with my aim name or my icq number (only one space alotted). it doesn't log on to icq database (like trillian or miranda on the pc), so no icq contacts are transferred. i don't see any evidence of real icq support and the ADIUMX FAQ doesn't state icq either (aim, yahoo, jabber...)
     
  7. FelixDerKater macrumors 68000

    FelixDerKater

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2002
  8. sir42 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Location:
    NY, NY
    #8
    I recently switched to mac. In order to chat to my old buddies on Yahoo Chat using voice, I have to bring out my five year old Dell laptop running Windows 98. I wish I didn't have to, but as of yet, I haven't found a way to voice chat on Yahoo with my brand new mac.
     
  9. michaelrjohnson macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2000
    Location:
    54140
    #9
    I recently downloaded Proteus. I like it *much* better than Adium. Try it.
     
  10. maradong macrumors 65816

    maradong

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2003
    Location:
    Luxembourg
    #10
    Welcome to the boards enfuchan :D

    which is my favourite as well ;-) 5/5 for that one
     
  11. Beligerent macrumors regular

    Beligerent

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Location:
    Exeter, NH
    #11
    enchufan

    I couldnt agree with you more! This has always been a sore spot for me. Everyone I know has MSN Messenger and are stunned when I tell them I cant voice chat. Their response is always the same, " Why dont you get a real computer"

    There is hope though listen to this. Skype for Mac OS X will be released soon. Its a voice chat program that works peer to peer. The sound quality on windows is incredible and it works with all routers and firewalls. Nothing to configure. It will be the best cross platform voice chat avail. For videochatting with windows users I use Sightspeed.

    Norm
     
  12. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #12
    "Why don't you get a real computer?" That's a lame response if I ever saw one. I don't do voice or video chats anyway (text only), so it doesn't matter to me. I only use two messaging programs: iChat and Conversation (for IRC chats). To be quite honest, I missed the introduction of Skype - I know nothing about it.
     
  13. j_maddison macrumors 6502a

    j_maddison

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2003
    Location:
    Nelson, Wales
    #13
    For me ichat is not an option. I dont know any other mac users really, well apart from one lad.

    As for adium, i used to use proteous. and to be honest they are both good programmes if you want to consolidate your chats. But i dont want to do that. I like logging into msn or yahoo seperately. I just wish yahoo had voice and wish msn had video.

    I agree, i so wish microsoft and yahoo would get their act together

    jay
     
  14. enfuchan thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    #14
    Thank You Everybody

    THANK YOU :) You all have come and heard my plea..... and I am a happy Adium user Thank you everyone :D THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU XP
     
  15. heaven macrumors 6502a

    heaven

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2004
    #15
    Started using Adium 3 days ago and I'm really happy with it.. Hope they will ad voice/video to their future releases.. :rolleyes:

    Cheers
     

Share This Page