Intalling Games

Discussion in 'Games' started by macfan92, Jun 6, 2006.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    #1
    I just got my iMac yesterday and I have a few questions about installing games. For example, when I try to install COD2, I put the disk in, I see the COD2 icon pop up, I click on it, and then all these other weird icons pop up. That's where I get lost. Can someone please help me, I'm very confused? :confused:
     
  2. macrumors 68000

    calebjohnston

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    #2
    Weird icons? I don't know what COD2 is, but if you drag the main icon from that folder that pops up into your applications folder, it will install.
     
  3. macrumors 68020

    srobert

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2002
    #3
    Sounds unusual. Maybe you could post a screenshot? (Command-shift-3)

    You're using the mac version of the game, right? (Just to be sure)
     
  4. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    #4

    Mac version? You mean that there are mac and pc versions of games?
     
  5. macrumors 68020

    srobert

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2002
    #5
    Bingo!

    (Except for some rare games that have both versions on the CD, like Starcraft)

    Were you trying to install Call of Duty 2 in OS X with a PC version of the CD? It won't work. You could install the PC version on the Mac but only with windows insatalled. (See the bootcamp forum and guides for details).
     
  6. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    #6

    So where do I get these mac versions?
     
  7. macrumors 68020

    srobert

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2002
    #7
    PC games are used ported to the mac either by the producer or by companies specializing in Mac ports like Aspyr, Macplay and Macsoft. Most stores selling PC games won't carry the Mac versions. You should go to a store where Macs are also sold. You could also order online.
     
  8. macrumors 604

    GFLPraxis

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2004
    #8
    Yup :D
     
  9. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    #9

    Wait, I know I've heard of people playing call of duty 2 on a mac. So they must've had the mac version? Wow, I'm really starting to regret my decision to buy a mac now.......It seems rather complicted to get these mac versions.
     
  10. macrumors 65816

    yankeefan24

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2005
    Location:
    NYC
    #10
    Not really. Apple sells them from store.apple.com amazon sells them as well. It would be annoying if you have alot of windows games though. That's what bootcamp is for though:D
     
  11. macrumors 68020

    srobert

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2002
    #11
    Yes. There is a Mac version of Call of Duty 2. Mac games are not that hard to find. Have a look around.

    If you bought a mac especially to play games, I'm sorry to say that you'll probably end up regretting it. Mac are wonderful computers but the smaller user base means that fewer games get ported. A lot of the major games get ported to the mac but sometimes months after the PC version is released. By the way, why did you swith to the mac? Just curious.
     
  12. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    #12

    I switched to the mac b/c I heard that they are very good computers and looking on the apple site, they talked about the amazing graphics on macs so I thought, 'hey, i need a good gaming computer, maybe I should get a mac.' By the way, what is bootcamp?
     
  13. MRU
    macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #13
    Bootcamp is a utility on apples website. That when installed on an intel mac, will alow the user to install Windows XP on a small area (parition) of their drive. Doing this means you basically have a PC and there fore can run all your windows software including that copy of COD2 you have.
     
  14. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    #14

    WOW GREAT!! Thank you so much!
     
  15. macrumors 68030

    ReanimationLP

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Location:
    On the moon.
    #15
    Whats intalling? :confused:
     
  16. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    #16
    I'm reading about the bootcamp thing and I have one question. It say's that you need to have a Windows XP Home Edition CD. I have a Windows computer, but it came preinstalled w/Windows XP. So I don't have the CD obviously. I checked to see how much a CD costs. It's $190 bucks. I might as well just buy that iMac version then spend all that money for the CD. I'm starting to wonder why they say macs are "user friendly."
     
  17. 7on
    macrumors 601

    7on

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2003
    Location:
    Dress Rosa
    #17
    Macs are user friendly as long as you don't want to run Windows programs. I can make DVDs 5x easier than I ever saw anyone do under Windows. That said Newegg.com sells Windows XP for $85.
     
  18. macrumors 604

    GFLPraxis

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2004
    #18
    The only reason you are having trouble is that you have a Mac and are trying to run Windows software.

    If you had the Mac version of the game you'd have no trouble :)
     
  19. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    #19
    One other thing. Now I tryed to install Starcraft and that didn't work. I'm pretty sure Starcraft works on macs. Am I mistaken?
     
  20. Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    Whakatane, New Zealand
    #20
    You need this updated installer.
     
  21. macrumors 6502a

    penter

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2006
    #21
    I LOVE YOU! i didnt know that shortcut for taking screenshots. wow, i thought i had to open Grab everytime i wanted one.
    thnx:)
     
  22. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    #22

    Do they make another one of those things for Diablo?
     
  23. macrumors 6502a

    bowens

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2006
    Location:
    Trenton, FL
    #23

Share This Page