Intel "Conroe" (2006 PowerMac)

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by deanbo, Jun 8, 2005.

  1. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 6, 2003
    #1
  2. macrumors 601

    Diatribe

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2004
    Location:
    Back in the motherland
    #2
    Now that sounds rather promising. Would be cool if true.
     
  3. macrumors 65816

    buryyourbrideau

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Location:
    Chicago
    #3
    i think that apple might use the merom and the woodcrest. the merom would go into the books and have slightly different speeds for the different lines,

    i think it might be a good idea for apple to use the xeon processor for the powermacs. then people wont bitch about no power.
     
  4. macrumors 68030

    Platform

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2004
    #4
    Well they have too, the P4 can't be set in Dual config ;)
     
  5. macrumors 68000

    SpaceMagic

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Location:
    Cardiff, Wales
    #5
    There are dual core P4 mobile processors in the making too.
     
  6. macrumors 68030

    Platform

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2004
    #6
    Yes...I know about Dual Core, but in the next PM's there should be Dual "Dual Core" and the P4 is not a CPU that can be set-up in a dual config ;)
     
  7. macrumors 6502a

    Windowlicker

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2003
    Location:
    Finland
    #7
    Whatever the outcome, I just wish Apple stops releasing computers with dated stuff. Especially what comes to graph cards. It's great they upped the iMac to 128, but I think power macs should have 256 as default (except the cheapest model). not the best card there is out there, but anyways..

    The greatest wish I have: cheaper hardware, software is already very well priced.
     
  8. macrumors 6502a

    zakatov

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    South Florida
    #8
    You pay for the software when you buy the hardware. Can't have both cheap.
     

Share This Page