intel iMac Airport issue, called Apple, they're stubborn

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by M. Malone, Apr 6, 2006.

  1. M. Malone macrumors 6502a

    M. Malone

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2004
    #1
    hey everyone, well I have an issue with my Airport card in my iMac, it's giving me speeds of no more than 200 Kbps, my PowerBook, which sits RIGHT next to my iMac gets 4.5+ Mbps, nothing below 4.5, so I call Apple, they're convinced it's my Linksys Router, I tried explaining that I have a PowerBook which is fine under the router, they lady on the phone said, "no it can't be the Airport, please call Linksys" this is really Annoying because I received my iMac on Friday, and it had a faulty keyboard, now I'm having trouble getting a highspeed connection using it, what do I do? :confused:
     
  2. livingfortoday macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2004
    Location:
    The Msp
    #2
    It took me numerous phone calls and many, many hours on the phone with Apple to get them to take back my iMac for a replacement when it had software issues. None of the techs or representatives would accept that it could be a software problem at all, and since it wasn't hardware-related... jeez.

    I recommend just calling again and again, and not letting them get you off the phone until someone either helps you resolve the issue, or gets you a replacement. Alternately, you could take it in to the Apple store to the Genius Bar and have them look at it.
     
  3. M. Malone thread starter macrumors 6502a

    M. Malone

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2004
    #3
    I'm on the phone with them now, if I have to, I'll take it to the Genius bar, the guy on the phone is getting on my nerves "yea it's your router, it's cause it a Wireless B" it's like I'm in the Twilight Zone where I'm paranoid or something, whoever I talk to from Apple disregards that I HAVE A POWERBOOK with the Airport Extreme card and it works fine. Genius Bar it is. :mad:
     
  4. livingfortoday macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2004
    Location:
    The Msp
    #4
    Try to get them to switch you over to a tech guy. They at least won't treat you like an idiot. :rolleyes:
     
  5. scuzzbono macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    #5
    MacBook wireless problem

    I've just been to MacBoot camp and have a nice WindowsXP side by side with my OSX. I've been having wireless problems with the MacBook OSX not getting more than 40Kbs against my 802.11b D-Link router.
    Guess what, the MacBook running WinXP has no problems with wireless throughput against the D-Link and tests have got up to 2Mbs.
    So to all those stubborn Mac techs out there, 'YOU HAVE A SOFTWARE DRIVER PROBLEM'. Now stop stuffing around and fix it.:)
     
  6. M. Malone thread starter macrumors 6502a

    M. Malone

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2004
    #6
    ok, so this is most definitely a software problem? if so, I'm relieved, cause it'll only be a matter of time till they realize.
     
  7. baby duck monge macrumors 68000

    baby duck monge

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2003
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    #7
    You could always tell them that you borrowed an airport station or something and that it's still happening and see what they tell you. Or the genius bar. Whichever :p
     
  8. M. Malone thread starter macrumors 6502a

    M. Malone

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2004
    #8
    ok, went to the genius, they couldn't figure out why such a slow connection, tried everything, the guy called Apple and "made note" now Apple has all this info on file, so I go home, I put my iMac a few inches away from my router, and now I have proper speeds, when it's 20 feet away, it slows down big time, but the signal never drops, this is really weird, the card works, the range never affects the signal strength, it only affects the speed. any solution?
     
  9. gman71882 macrumors 6502

    gman71882

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Location:
    Houston, Tx
    #9
    Your walls must be emmitting some weird form of cosmic radiation that is disrupting the flow of Wireless particles to your New Imac. :D

    it could just be some type of interference. I have seen a $50 item @ compusa that "directs" Wifi to an exact spot and it looked just like a PRINGLES CAN!!! I KID YOU NOT!
    Ive heard of people making a this same "broadcaster" to focus their wireless signal to a pinpoint location from none other than an ACTUAL leftover PRINGLES can... so maybe you could try that!!!!

    PROOFF THAT IM NOT JERKING YOU AROUND!!! :D
    MORE PROOF
    :eek: :rolleyes: :cool: :D ;) :) :confused:
     
  10. M. Malone thread starter macrumors 6502a

    M. Malone

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2004
    #10
    that is really cool! well I did call Apple, and after pretty much spending my weekend with Apple, either over the phone or at the Apple store, they are finally gonna send me a replacement, it was really hard since my machine is a Build To Order. I'd agree there is interference, but I have a PowerBook which sits on the same desk as my iMac and receives better speed, I should point out, I do get a full signal on both machines, so I hope the replacement will work as I want it to, thanks though, maybe I can use the Pringles can trick and give everybody on my floor highspeed internet, for a fee :D
     

Share This Page