Intel iMac and game lag

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by frankm007, Feb 2, 2006.

  1. frankm007 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    #1
    I haven't played games in a very long time. After getting my 2ghz intel iMac with 1gig ram and ati 1600 256 meg vid card i figured games like:

    halo
    command and conquer
    battlefield 1942
    call of duty
    medal of honor

    would play smoothly!

    maybe it's my settings but these games are laggin!! Is it because they are not optimized for intel or do i have my settings too high? i set them to "high/max" in almost everything aspect and to almost the best if not the second best resolution... ideas?
     
  2. grapes911 Moderator emeritus

    grapes911

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Location:
    Citizens Bank Park
    #2
    I'm assuming you are running all these games via Rosetta. As good as Rosetta is, you can't expect great performances from a non-native apps. I'd turn everything low and see what happens.
     
  3. frankm007 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    #3
    Rossetta is build in correct? and since these games are not native, i assume the OS will activate rossetta when i launch these games...

    so it's not my hardware but the emulation (rossetta?) that's the issue
     
  4. grapes911 Moderator emeritus

    grapes911

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Location:
    Citizens Bank Park
  5. Josh396 macrumors 65816

    Josh396

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Location:
    Peoria/Chicago, IL
    #5
    You are correct.
     
  6. frankm007 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    #6
    so i'm at the mercy of the developers... hoping they make a universal version of their games! =.(
     
  7. grapes911 Moderator emeritus

    grapes911

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Location:
    Citizens Bank Park
    #7
    Don't count on universal versions of older games, but new games should be Intel native.
     
  8. ncoffey macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2005
    #8
    Try turning down some of the settings. Terrain distance and a couple of others are big ones that will improve performance under rosetta. (I read this somewhere on the World of Warcraft mac support forums)
     
  9. BlizzardBomb macrumors 68030

    BlizzardBomb

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2005
    Location:
    England
    #9
    I've read somewhere (Ars Technica?) that the game performance is comparable to the iMac in my sig for Rosetta run games.
     
  10. robo74 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Location:
    Near Chicago
    #10
    Get used to it!
     

Share This Page