Intel iMac and Pro Software

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by mBox, Jan 20, 2006.

  1. mBox macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2002
    #1
    Has anyone tested the new Intel iMacs with pro apps e.g. FCP, Protools etc...
    If it runs as fast as FCP on my G4 933, Id be fine ;)
    Im sure the native code will be out in the near future (I hope).
    Is it me or didnt I experienced this back in the 040 > PowerPC days (1994) ;)
     
  2. Platform macrumors 68030

    Platform

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2004
    #2
    Well if you had watched the Keynote, read other threads, read apple.com....you would know that the pro apps will be universal in March, and do not run now. ;)
     
  3. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #3
    I agree with Platform. It takes very little effort to find this out but to lessen the effort level further click here.
     
  4. MondayNgt macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    #4
    There is one exception that I came across....I was able to install Final Cut Pro 3 on my machine. It's not particularly perky and the render times are loooooooonnnggg, but playback in the preview window depending on the effects is fairly decent and is acceptable for "simple" projects.

    I have a Final Cut Pro 5 upgrade and am eagerly waiting until March to upgrade to Studio Universal.
     
  5. mBox thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2002
    #5
    perky? can you clarify? is it anywhere near G4 933 speeds?
    I think I still have my version 3 disks around :)
     
  6. mBox thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2002
    #6
    Can you please tell me which version of FCP 3? There was 3.02 and 3.03.
    And was it useable for basic editing?
    I can work in basic editing mode for a few months I guess.
    Also any problems capturing video to FCP?
     

Share This Page