Intel iMac and USB External Drive

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by KettyKrueger, Feb 17, 2007.

1. KettyKrueger macrumors 6502

KettyKrueger

Hi All

Newbie here. I've just purchased a Iomega 250GB USB external drive for my music.

Problem is, my iMac won't boot up when the drive is connected! I have to turn the damn thing off first.

Any ideas why this happens? Is therea work around?

Also, is it possible to boot from this? I've tried but with no avail.

Thanks in advance.

btw, it's an Intel iMac Core Duo 17".

2. Fleetwood Mac macrumors 65816

Fleetwood Mac

Did you Mac startup fine with the drive plugged into before you tried to boot from it? Did you try to install OS X on it? Did you try to stick some flavour of Windows on it?

I'm not sure whats going on, but its likely that a format of the external will provide quick and dirty satisfaction. If that doesn't work you miht be able to DOA it.

3. KettyKrueger thread starter macrumors 6502

KettyKrueger

Yeah, the mac started fine before and still does when the HDD is not plugged in!

It was formated under MS-DOS, but I just reformated it as Mac Extended Journal [or something] and it still doesn't work.

Might be able to DOA it? <--sorry what do you mean by that?

Thanks.

4. Fleetwood Mac macrumors 65816

Fleetwood Mac

I'll make myself more clear. I wanted to know wether or not your Mac ever started up fine with the external plugged in and turned on. DOA stands for dead on arrival, if its a new disk and we can't fix it you can probably just return it to the shop or manufacturer.

When you start up your iMac with the disk off, and then turn it on when logged in does it show up on the desktop or in the Finder? Are you able to use it less the startup quirk?

What did you do to try and boot from the external?