Intel iMac w/ Conroe chip? Possibilities?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by jwp333, Apr 29, 2006.

  1. jwp333 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2006
    #1
    I know Merom is expected for next iMac revision. But what about the Conroe chip? Any chance? If not, why so?
     
  2. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #2
    I suspect that Conroe (which is a desktop CPU, a replacement for the P4) will run too hot for the iMac enclosure. Also as Apple will be using Conroe for PowerMac replacements they may want to use Merom for the iMac/Mac Mini to keep a separation between the Pro and Consumer lines.
     
  3. aswitcher macrumors 603

    aswitcher

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    Location:
    Canberra OZ
    #3
    I thought at 65nm it would run cool enough and that Woodcrest would appear in the PM...
     
  4. Mord macrumors G4

    Mord

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    conroe is going in the imac, jesus conroe will be a good cool desktop chip not too long ago the G5 was in the imac ffs.

    no way is merom going in the imac, the current core duo is a stop gap as the only suitable cpu intel makes.
     
  5. risc macrumors 68030

    risc

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #5
    The Conroe isn't an SMP enabled CPU so unless Apple want the Power Mac G5 to be the fastest pro desktop Mac ever they had better be using the Woodcrest in the pro desktops. I'd be amazed if Apple didn't use the Conroe in the iMac. They got a G5 in there why not a Conroe?
     
  6. MrCrowbar macrumors 68000

    MrCrowbar

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    #6
    Conroe will be in an iMac sompeday I think. But Merom will be there before that (in the next iMac update maybe) as it is pin compatible with the current Core Duos.

    The G5 worked fine in iMacs so Conroe should work in terms of heat. Maybe we'll see a new iMac enclosure for Conroe. The current one is fine, but it uses small SO-DIMMS (expensive) and you can't really swap your HDD on your own. I love the original iMac G5 for the easy acess for the guts. The intel (or G5 with iSight) is just not as Apple as the old mashines...
     

Share This Page