Intel Logo is MIA

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by mustard, Mar 9, 2006.

  1. mustard macrumors 6502a

    mustard

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2005
    Location:
    NJ
    #1
    I ran a search and was unable to find any info on this so sorry if this is redundant.

    There is no sign of the intel logo on my MacBook Pro (no stickers or anything), but I have just noticed that the box has absolutely use of the intel corporate logo. It just has the Apple designed(?) Core Duo button, a trademark disclaimer, and it is printed on the specs label as 2.0GHz Intel Core Duo.

    I am kinda astonished the that the intel corporate logo isn't on the box
     
  2. iGary Guest

    iGary

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    Randy's House
    #2
    Apple was smart enough to keep their crappy logo work off their machines, boxes, etc. and use their own.
     
  3. m-dogg macrumors 65816

    m-dogg

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2004
    Location:
    Connecticut
    #3
    Phew! Thankfully they didn't sticker up the machines. I know I was one of many that feared they may do that when they announced the change to Intel.
     
  4. mustard thread starter macrumors 6502a

    mustard

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2005
    Location:
    NJ
    #4
    I completely agree with you but couldn't even find it anywhere in any of the documentation either. I figured it would be subtle and minimized somewhere in the back of the documentation.
     
  5. Daedalus256 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    #5
    I must say though I prefer the new intel logo over the older one, it looks a lot cleaner.
     
  6. Kingsly macrumors 68040

    Kingsly

    #6
    The new MacBook Pro...
    ♪bing bing bing bing bing♫ Intel inside.

    I would die. Thank you Apple for not allowing it.
     
  7. DougTheImpaler macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Location:
    Central Illinois
    #7
    You guys are assuming that Intel mandates that crap. I always figured stickers were the loud proclamation by different computer vendors that they're using Intel CPU's as a way to differentiate one from one another, not some Intel-mandated stuff.

    Buy an Intel (or AMD for that matter) retail CPU and you'll find you get a case sticker...noone says you have to use it. I'm guessing this is the same way.
     
  8. plinkoman macrumors 65816

    plinkoman

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2003
    Location:
    New York
    #8
    of course intel doesn't mandate it, but what they do do, is offer big discounts if you plaster your product with their sticker. ;)
     
  9. yg17 macrumors G5

    yg17

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #9
    I heard that manufacturers get discounts for using the Intel logo. Glad Apple figured it wasnt worth it :D
     
  10. mustard thread starter macrumors 6502a

    mustard

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2005
    Location:
    NJ
    #10
    I know that it is not mandated or anything other than a seller's incentive but I figured it would be somewhere - my old PowerMac G4 box has the Motorola Logo on both the box and the literature and figured it would be the same with Intel.
     
  11. godbout macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2005
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    #11
    Your G5 had a moto sticker on it... that is strange considering IBM made the chip ;)
     
  12. mustard thread starter macrumors 6502a

    mustard

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2005
    Location:
    NJ
    #12
    Sorry it is a G4 MDD Dual 1Ghz Typo
     
  13. me_94501 macrumors 65816

    me_94501

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    #13
    If Apple were to include the Intel logo, I would expect it to be laser-engraved on or something. :p
     
  14. mwpeters8182 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #14
    I wouldn't mind that, if it meant they got a discount on the chips. A laser engraved logo that wasn't too in your face.
     
  15. Kingsly macrumors 68040

    Kingsly

    #15
    What if they subtly planted it in there like:
    Applᵉ MacBook Pro featuring the Intᵉl Core duo mega Applᵉ edition.
     
  16. mustard thread starter macrumors 6502a

    mustard

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2005
    Location:
    NJ
    #16
    I don't get it - Hu?
     
  17. Kingsly macrumors 68040

    Kingsly

    #17
    Apparently it didn't work. The "?" were little raised "e"
     
  18. DougTheImpaler macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Location:
    Central Illinois
    #18
    OK, if that's the case, I can see some concern, and I'm glad they didn't do it either.
     
  19. echeck macrumors 68000

    echeck

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2004
    Location:
    Boise, Idaho
    #19
    It worked for me, made me laugh. :)

    On topic, I'm glad the Intel logo isn't plastered anywhere. I didn't figure it would be though, knowing Apple.
     

Share This Page