Intel Mac COMPLAINT regarding APPS!

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by imac abuser, May 10, 2006.

  1. imac abuser macrumors 6502a

    imac abuser

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    #1
    I have a fully loaded 20" iMac with the new Intel processors. I have to say, I have had multiple problems with drivers not working, 3rd party apps that won't work on the Intel. Why? I thought this thing should work with both old, and new things. I'm finding this to not be true. I finally was able to get updated drivers for my Logitech MX1000 Laser mouse. All the buttons wouldn't work how they should.

    Chris
     
  2. iGary Guest

    iGary

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    Randy's House
    #2
    What other apps?
     
  3. imac abuser thread starter macrumors 6502a

    imac abuser

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    #3
  4. iGary Guest

    iGary

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    Randy's House
    #4
    You'll be happier with Adium, I think.

    What else?
     
  5. imac abuser thread starter macrumors 6502a

    imac abuser

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    #5
    I've used that one in the past, I really like iChat it's just not meeting all my needs.
     
  6. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #6
    Well, remember that PPC apps (which Proteus would appear to be) have to be run through Rosetta. Not all PPC apps will work in Rosetta. This is why you should be looking for Universal versions of all the software you download.
     
  7. Subiklim macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Location:
    Manhattan, New York
    #7
    I just plugged my MX1000 in and it worked fine. I've had nearly no problems with my system, other than a few applications. This is obviously to be expected, as we are early adoptors of a new processor, and not everything has been ported yet.
     
  8. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #8

    Also, please note that the last time there was a version release for Proteus was August 05. They've clearly not done anything about the switch to x86 architecture.
     

Share This Page