Intel Mac mini vram 256 meg????

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Passante, Mar 5, 2006.

  1. Passante macrumors 6502a

    Passante

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2004
    Location:
    on the sofa
    #1
    Went to the Apple store today and tested the Mac Mini's handling of HD content from the Apple site. It was a dual core mini with 512 meg of ram.

    Downloaded the wildlife reel from Apple's web site (720p resolution) and ran it in quicktime while I played with iPhoto effects and also previewed a slide show in iPhoto that contained lots of transitions. I also played with expose repeatedly while the quicktime move played. The mini hardly ever dropped blow 29 fps. Very impressive

    I checked system profiler and checked the graphics card. It showed the Intel GMA950 graphics card with 256 meg of vram? Checked two minis and saw the same thing. What's with that? BTW nothing was open when I did this.

    I also opened activity monitor and could not see the ram utilized by the graphics card.

    Not sure about the info in the system profiler but I am impressed with the ability to decode HD content. Much better than my powerbook.
     
  2. buryyourbrideau macrumors 65816

    buryyourbrideau

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Location:
    Chicago
    #2
    Maybe you shouldnt think that all integrated graphics are crap. :D
     
  3. PlaceofDis macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    #3
    half a meg of ram?! and it booted?! :eek: :p
     
  4. Kingsly macrumors 68040

    Kingsly

    #4
    The Intel GMA950 shares system memory, so the OS was running on only 256 Mbytes of RAM. I think.
    Anyway, I am happy to hear the Mini performs at least as well (if not better than) as its PPC ancestor.
    For anyone that is interested, here is some info about the 950 (pulled from the above link):

    256-bit graphics core running at 400MHz
    Up to 10.6 GB/sec memory bandwidth with DDR2 667 system memory
    1.6 GPixels/sec and 1.6 GTexels/sec fill rate
    Up to 224 MB maximum video memory
    2048x1536 at 75 Hz maximum resolution
    Dynamic Display Modes for flat-panel, wide-screen and Digital TV support
    Up to 4 pixels per clock rendering
    Dual screen support through ADD2 digital video devices
    HDTV 480i/p, 576i/p, 720i/p and 1080i/p display resolution support
    Interlaced Display output support
    16x9 and 16x10 Aspect Ratio for widescreen displays
    2x2 Panel Scaler
    High Definition Hardware Motion Compensation to support high definition hi-bitrate MPEG2 media playback
    Up and Down Scaling of Video Content
    High Definition Content Decode - up to two stream support
    5x3 Overlay Filtering.

    Overall, not bad for an Integrated Chipset.
     
  5. generik macrumors 601

    generik

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2005
    Location:
    Minitrue
    #5
    Eh I thought for Apple's implementation they used 64mb?
     
  6. Kingsly macrumors 68040

    Kingsly

    #6
    Apparently not. I am actually happy that they used a GMA950. Gone are the days of maxing out VRAM and cursing that Apple didn't include an upgrade slot.
     
  7. ChrisFromCanada macrumors 65816

    ChrisFromCanada

    Joined:
    May 3, 2004
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario (CANADA)
    #7
    Can anyone else confirm/post a screenshot of the GMA950 in System Profiler.
     
  8. BWhaler macrumors 68020

    BWhaler

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    #8
    Respectfully, I am not sure I buy this.

    Apple reps are quotes as saying it is hard-wired to only use 64MB for apps, even if you have 2gigs installed.

    Don't get me wrong, I hope you are right. I just bought a mini for my wife with 2gigs, so I would be happy if the OS assigned memory to the GPU dynamically...
     
  9. plinkoman macrumors 65816

    plinkoman

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2003
    Location:
    New York
    #9
    well 640k ought to be enough for anybody :D :p
     
  10. iHeartTheApple macrumors 6502

    iHeartTheApple

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2006
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #10
    Very interesting...this sounds similar to the other thread where the system profiler said Intel Core Duo 1.5GHz and the "About This Mac" Screen said Intel Core Solo...

    Can anyone verify that this is the case? JSW or any other new mini owners? This would be great if it's not a typo! :)
     
  11. admanimal macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    #11
    My Core Solo (the one who's About This Mac reports being a Core Duo) says 64MB of VRAM in the system profiler.

    My Mini will also play 720p with no sweat (about 60% CPU use), so the fact that the one that reported 256MB of VRAM could also play 720p doesn't really mean anything. If it was a Core Solo and could play 1080p with no sweat, then it would be something special.
     
  12. Passante thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Passante

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2004
    Location:
    on the sofa
    #12
    I could tell it was a core Duo since it had two cpu monitors in activity monitor.
     
  13. Passante thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Passante

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2004
    Location:
    on the sofa
    #13
    I saw it and I don't believe it. I was at the Apple store to play with the mini cause I want one for under my LCD tv. I imagine its a bug in the system profiler. I asked an apple rep about it and he gave some BS answer about that the great thing about integrated graphics. The 256 meg vram aside the mini felt snappy and handled iPhoto very well while decoding 720 p HD and driving a 20 inch LCD. Hope to see more definitive tests.

    Nice of you to buy your wife a mini with 2 gigs ram wow!
     
  14. Passante thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Passante

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2004
    Location:
    on the sofa
    #14
    oops:D
     
  15. generik macrumors 601

    generik

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2005
    Location:
    Minitrue
    #15
    I just checked mine and it is definitely 64mb of shared memory.. is there somewhere in openfirmware or something where you can change the amount of ram allocated to the graphics chip?
     
  16. Passante thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Passante

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2004
    Location:
    on the sofa
    #16
    Now I'm starting to doubt myself. If anyone is near the King of Prussia Apple store please check the vram on the minis on the floor. :confused:
     
  17. asencif macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    #17
    It's been reported

    You may not be crazy. It has been reported that the new Mac mini's are inconsistent with their hardware profiing. People have seen the 256Vram report on Mac mini's at Apple Stores.

    http://macenstein.com/default/archives/252
     
  18. Passante thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Passante

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2004
    Location:
    on the sofa
    #18
  19. MacSA macrumors 68000

    MacSA

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Location:
    UK
    #19
    A single report from reader Jeremy hardly constitutes a "plague" lol :rolleyes:
     
  20. DougTheImpaler macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Location:
    Central Illinois
    #20
    maybe display minis are beta or prototype hardware?
     

Share This Page