Intel MacBook won't install certain apps?!

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Andrew05151, Dec 20, 2006.

  1. Andrew05151 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2006
    #1
    I don't understand...certain applications (such as WoW at the moment) will not install. When I double click the installers, the icon grows as if it's going to execute...yet nothing happens. This has also happened on the Windows Media Player for OS X and on a screen saver I've tried installing. Any ideas what the deal is with this? Or is it that it's trying to execute power-pc code? The thing is, I've installed WoW on intel-based macs before and did not have this problem...
     
  2. Nicolasdec macrumors 65816

    Nicolasdec

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    Location:
    São Paulo
  3. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #3
    Did you use DeLocalizer or anything like that by any chance on this computer?
     
  4. Andrew05151 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2006
    #4
    I did not know delocalizer, as I do not know what that is....I DID run monolingual in order to destroy all the extra language crap...and then I ran it to destroy all the power-pc code, which freed up another 700 meg....but I don't think that that would have any effect on the installer...unless...
     
  5. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #5
    Yes, it would. Delocalizer is another app just like Monolingual. This is why you're having problems. Don't do this.

    You can forum search here, but you may have to essentially start over (by re-installing OS X). :(
     
  6. Andrew05151 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2006
    #6
    Ugh, I just re-installed 2 days ago :(


    Sigh...the only reason I ran monolingual was due to a suggestion I had received from a very experience mac user. Damn.

    Well, thanks for confirming my suspicion.
     
  7. aristobrat macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    #7
    When reinstalling, if you chose the "Archive and Install" option, it should save all of your user data, reinstall OS X, and then give you the option to reimport your user data (during the Welcome to OS X wizard).
     
  8. thebeephaha macrumors 6502

    thebeephaha

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Location:
    Seattle WA
    #8
    You can use monolingual as long as you choose to leave the ppc binaries in tact.
     
  9. Andrew05151 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2006
    #9
    I re-installed today, and as suspected...WoW installs fine now. Thank you to all for your prompt suggestions and help, I appreciate it.
     
  10. aristobrat macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    #10
    Did you try the Archive option when you reinstalled, or did you end up manually copying your user data? Glad you're up and running! :)
     
  11. Andrew05151 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2006
    #11
    I archived. I figured there was no point in another reformat, since I just did a completely clean install 2 days ago. Thank you for the suggestion :eek:
     

Share This Page