Intel Mac's App & USB Support Group

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by MRU, Feb 2, 2006.

  1. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #1
    Ok so I thought it about time a thread was started which lists what products / software is working and more importantly for everyone NOT WORKING with the new intel macs.....

    A quick description of your mac.. i.e. model, ram etc...
    Software working, or not working....
    3rd Party Peripherals etc..

    DVD. - CD. Burning / Media types...

    Strange Anomalies...

    Intel iMac 20", 256Vram & 2GB DDRAM

    With Rosetta:-

    Adobe CS2 working, but my Version Cue did not after I had updated the software via adobe updater. I had to uninstall version cue.

    Corel Painter 9. Work's but there is a problem with Wacom Pads. I'll fill you in on that in a minute

    Elgato EYE TV 2. Working with EyeTV Wonder USB 2. Doesn't record in best quality and occasional glitch recognizing hardware in which I have to unplug the usb 2 and re-attach.

    CD Label Print (CANON) - works great

    Roller-Coaster Tycoon 3 (ASPYR) - work's ok, but gets slow and choppy and there's a delay when selecting items from the build menu. Definitely needs a universal patch.

    FREEWAY Pro 4 - working, no noticeable speed hit. Good on ya Softpress..

    Dreamweaver MX 2004 - working ok

    QuickBooks Pro 6 - working fine

    Microsoft Office 2004 - as many have reported working fine

    Final Draft 7 - working

    Corel Painter Essentials 2
    - working


    3rd Party Hardware Peripherals :-

    Canon iP3000 - working ok via bonjour on Airport Express Base Station. Though printing is notably slower than with the PowerPC

    Canon Lide 35 Scanner - works no problem

    Wacom Intuos 3 tablet - works with the newest drivers but........ It causes Corel Painter IX to crash on launch. Had to go back to older driver to make Painter work with it, unfortunately the older drivers preference pane does not work... I've been in-touch with Wacom and they emailed me to tell me that 4.95 driver will be available at the end of the month (FEB) and should resolve this problem.

    Strange Anomalies
    .dmg files refused to open up when double clicking on them. However if I right clicked and choose Mount they do open.. ??

    Safari boots up fast, but my internet connection is slower on this computer. Ran test with isp provider and whatever the mac is doing, it is slower that my other macs and office pc...
     
  2. livingfortoday macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2004
    Location:
    The Msp
    #2
    Well, I guess no one else has commented, so I will.

    Safari is incredibly unstable for me. I'm running it natively, not under Rosetta, and it crashes constantly. No specific sites, either, it'll crash while Im' reading a PDF and not doing anything else, or while browsing Mac Rumors.

    VLC is also pretty unstable, and will randomly quit for no reason. That it works at all makes me pretty happy, though.

    Azureus does not work, even with the Intel patches.

    Tomato Torrent works fine.

    Toast 7.0.2 works fine as far as I can tell, though it's been kind of unstable if I try to drag and drop large files into it. Don't know if that's a common problem, though, and not just an Intel mac related one.

    iDVD was pretty unstable when I first started using it, but for some reason it's calmed down and doesn't crash anymore.

    Tigerlaunch works fine.

    Any unsanity things I've tried (like Ceepeeyou) don't work yet.

    InCrease seems to run, but won't update its status. I see the cores working, though on the activity monitor. Don't know how well it actually works, though.

    In all, I'm pretty disappointed with how little software I use actually runs on this computer, and how unstable a lot of the Apple stuff is. I'm hoping that they patch some things quickly, especially Safari. I'm going to try running it under Rosetta for a while, and see if that improves things.

    Oh, and I've the same problem with a lot of .dmg's. I don't know why it is, but I have to go to Disk Utility and click "mount" to get some to work.

    Edit: Also, I just tried to Rosetta Safari... and nothing. It'll start up a bit slower, but then it will immediately give me a spinning beachball before even loading my home page. And then nothing happens and I have to force-quit it. I've rebooted just now, and the same thing is happening. So for me at least, it seems Safari will not run under Rosetta, which is really odd.
     
  3. maverick808 macrumors 65816

    maverick808

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Location:
    Scotland
    #3
    Have you tried the Intel build?

    http://nightlies.videolan.org/build/macosx-intel/

    Make sure you read the instructions on what prefs to change in the forum topic... otherwise all the movies you play will just give a black screen.
     
  4. arcsbite Guest

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    #4
    intel Imac 17" 1.83Ghz 1.5GB RAM

    With Rosetta:-

    Adobe CS working, initial start up was slow the first few times but now I don't notice any difference between this and working with it on my iMac G5 1.8Ghz 1.5GB RAM last month

    Stubbs The Zombie (ASPYR) - won't even start up, gonna try re-instal later, gutted I'd onlty had the game a few weeks and played it twice.

    Dreamweaver MX 2004/Flash - Both working fine, not noticed a lag

    Microsoft Office 2004 - Perfectly fine

    firefox - this has been tempremental, will freeze up and quit on occasion, but not often

    Aperture - Not working, but then we knew it wouldn't...bought it for my G5, found out the video card wasn't supported, kept it for intel realized it won't work, luckily was able to return it for store credit for March when UB version is released.

    Extensis Suitcase - Will fail to open 1 out of 4 times, but when it starts it's fine.

    Toast 6 Titanium - fine, although every verification has failed (disk has been fine though) since intel switch, this may be coincidence.

    Strange Anomalies
    opening pref pane's won't work with a lot of native apps, I installed Quicktime Pro 7.0.1 and everything was fine except the prefs wouldn't work, realised this was native and downloaded 7.0.4 which is universal, all works fine and my Pro license still works too.
     
  5. livingfortoday macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2004
    Location:
    The Msp
    #5
    So, is anyone else having the same problem with Safari being incredibly unstable?
     
  6. maverick808 macrumors 65816

    maverick808

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Location:
    Scotland
    #6
    No, it's fine here. Why would you run Safari in Rosetta? The Intel version is faster and has the same features (both Flash and Java run fine in the Intel version).

    Perhaps there is something strange about your home page. If you post a link to it I can try it on my Safari if you want.
     
  7. livingfortoday macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2004
    Location:
    The Msp
    #7
    I'm just using http://mail.yahoo.com under Rosetta, and it won't start. I'll try and change it to the Apple homepage and see if that works. I've been running the native version, and it just crashes constantly, which is why I'm wanting to try Rosetta.

    Edit: No, Safari just won't work under Rosetta for me. It shows no CPU use at all, beachballs, and then is labeled as "not responding" within ten seconds.
     
  8. MRU thread starter macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #8
    nope that url works for me.. albeit with the slow ass airport connection on my imac...
     
  9. maverick808 macrumors 65816

    maverick808

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Location:
    Scotland
    #9
    It'll probably be quick if you turn off encryption on your wireless network. For some reason every Mac I've ever used has difficulty handling wireless encryption.
     
  10. kugino macrumors 65816

    kugino

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2003
    #10
    i suppose i'll find out for myself when my 20" arrives tomorrow, but i'm interested to see how the following apps run:

    - mac the ripper (yes, it's not available for download anymore, but many of us still use it)
    - dvd2onex (v.1)
    - lightroom
    - google earth
    - dropcopy
    - more info on the wacom tablets
    - griffin powermate
    - markspace palm app

    will report my tests later...
     
  11. maverick808 macrumors 65816

    maverick808

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Location:
    Scotland
    #11
    Don't know about the rest but I have ran Google Earth and can report that after a bit of a slow start up time (15-20secs) it runs extremely smoothly. Better than it did on my 1.5GHz PowerBook. It doesn't seem to have any bugs... not any I've noticed anyway and I've used it quite a bit.

    Hopefully Google will put out an Intel version in the near future though.
     
  12. plinden macrumors 68040

    plinden

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    #12
    ... plus more unstable apps ...

    On another thread, someone mentioned that downloading dashboard widgets seemed to cause app instability and removing the widgets fixed things. Do you have any other widgets installed?

    I don't, just have the default widgets, and I haven't had any problems whatsoever with any app I've tried, native or powerpc.
     
  13. livingfortoday macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2004
    Location:
    The Msp
    #13
    That's a good tip, I had installed a widget called "systats nano", and I just turned it off. I'll see how stable Safari is now.
     
  14. livingfortoday macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2004
    Location:
    The Msp
    #14
    Okay, that did nothing. I've also noticed that iTunes is prone to random crashes when surfing the iTunes Music Store. It also will not update my iPod shuffle. It says it loaded one song on, and then sticks and doesn't load any more. When iTunes restarts, it starts from the beginning again.

    Very weird. I'm really disappointed with this iMac actually, and the more I use it, the more disappointed I get. Blargh. Maybe I shoulda just got a G5 one...
     
  15. maverick808 macrumors 65816

    maverick808

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Location:
    Scotland
    #15
    I really think it's time for a reinstall and if that fails then call Apple and get the machine replaced or get a refund. My iMac has been rock solid since it arrived. Safari hasn't crashed on me once and I've viewed loads of flash and java with it.

    Rest of the system is stable as well.
     
  16. kugino macrumors 65816

    kugino

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2003
    #16
    i agree. it sounds like something's not right with your whole system...did you import things into your imac via mac's migration assistant? or did you install things manually?
     
  17. NeuronBasher macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2006
    #17
    Did you add any memory to your iMac, or are you using the stock memory from Apple? This sounds suspiciously like a flaky memory module to me. I've seen similar symptoms with malfunctioning memory modules in the past.

    I agree with the previous suggestion -- do a full reinstall and see if things improve. If not, it's time to get Applecare involved and let them figure out what's wrong with your hardware.
     
  18. livingfortoday macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2004
    Location:
    The Msp
    #18
    I didn't move anything over from my other Mac, I did clean installs and retired the old Cube I was using. I DID install a 1GB memory chip from datamem.com, maybe I should take that out before I do a clean install and just see how things run without it.

    Thanks for the advice, I'll keep you posted!
     
  19. livingfortoday macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2004
    Location:
    The Msp
    #19
    Okay, I ran the hardware test CD with and without the extra 1GB of RAM, and it didn't find anything wrong with my system. Im running the system without the extra 1GB, just on my standard 512MB from Apple, and it's still buggy like none other. I guess I'm going to do a fresh wipe and install of the system, and see if that sorts things out or not...

    If not, I'll call Apple in the mornin', I suppose!
     
  20. maverick808 macrumors 65816

    maverick808

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Location:
    Scotland
    #20
    I'd put the extra RAM back in just now then since you've elimintated it as a problem. If the RAM was bad you would have had complete lockups and you never saw that.

    Wipe and install and hopefully everything will be good.

    Good luck.
     
  21. johnnybluejeans macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2006
    Location:
    New York, NY
    #21
    Wow, I'd be pretty upset if my iMac was acting like that too.

    I didn't have any problems with Safari, but I run DeerPark now (the Intel build of Firefox). DeerPark has never crashed on me.

    As for apps that need Rosetta: I've use Photoshop CS2, Illustrator, Dreamweaver 8, Word, Powerpoint, Excel and Quicken all frequently and without any problems. I've also used Mathematica and BB Edit without any problems.

    iMovie HD has crashed on me a couple times, but recovered pretty gracefully without losing any data -- it crashed once while importing some video via Firewire and all the clips were there when it started back up.

    No problems with iTunes or using my iPod Nano. I also use CoverFlow to drive iTunes and have not had any problems.

    I have experienced a problem with the computer locking up when I've tried to wake it up from sleep. This has happened about 3 times in 3 weeks. I've heard of one guy who has this problem 75% of the time he tries to wake or boot his new iMac... so it is something to keep an eye on.

    Garageband has locked up a couple times on me, but I think it is more of an issue with the USB support for my DVForge guitar plug. I haven't had many problems with my guitar plug though.
     
  22. johnnybluejeans macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2006
    Location:
    New York, NY
    #22
    RAM from Datamem

    By the way, I also am running with an extra gig from Datamem and haven't had any problems with my memory. Sure made OSX run more smooth though!
     
  23. livingfortoday macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2004
    Location:
    The Msp
    #23
    Well, the complete reinstall of my system hasn't seemed to work. It's still buggy and unstable as heck, and Safari can't seem to stop crashing.

    I guess I should call Apple.
     
  24. kugino macrumors 65816

    kugino

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2003
    #24
    yeah, get a new one right away. good luck.
     
  25. kskill macrumors member

    kskill

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2006
    Location:
    new york, ny
    #25
    solid

    20 inch 2.0ghz intel imac w/ 2gb ram [built in from apple], 250gb, 128mb video whatchamacallit

    firefox has been terrible for me. i've stopped trying to use it, i just stick with safari now and i haven't had any problems.
    final cut pro 5 is actually pretty good. you need to render when making some changes, but it's pretty good. exporting was rough, BUT i was edited on my internal harddrive and exporting to my internal as well, which is a no-no anyway.
    i never managed to get vlc to work, but i'll try the link posted above in a little bit.
    garageband and imovie work well.


    no major complaints except firefox.
     

Share This Page