Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

ibn

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 2, 2006
i'm a hip hop producer mostly. and i was looking into getting a macbook pro. i am most a hardware user and i only use my computer for recording into protools and maybe cutting samples in recycle. i use the digi002r and protools le for my recording setup. i know that there is no software compatible with the new intel macs yet. and according to digidesign they dont know when there will be one available. thats fine i dont mind waiting, and i plan to wait for the 17" verison anyways.

my question will my hardware til be compatible with the intel macs? i have been hearing mix reports on this.

also i have a basic pc thats stripped down to nothing but protools and recycle for my computer that i use to record now. but this computer will also serve as my school laptop also. i'll be running word processors, the internet, itune and maybe some counterstrike here and there. will the macbook be able to handle this? i have heard bad things from people using there music computers for the internet. but i'm not going to be be running VSTi's so i dont know if that ables to me...

sorry about the long post. thanks in advice for just reading.

oh, has anyone run protools in rosetta? what is that like?

Quantum Man

macrumors member
Jan 3, 2006
New York
Yes the MacBook Pro will definitely be able to handle anything else you throw at it besides audio stuff, including gaming. And I don't see any reason why the 002R would stop working with the Intel Macs. Once Pro Tools arrives in Universal Binary, I'd imagine your 002R will still work.

I am also a Pro Tools LE user, and one day I hope to upgrade to Apogee converters, namely the Rosetta 800. From everyone I talk to and have read, they say the difference is HUGE when you listen to both, the 002R's converters vs the Rosetta's converters. You can't go wrong with Apogee.

XraggedX