Intel RAM Guide needs an update.

Discussion in 'Mac Guides' started by flopticalcube, May 15, 2009.

  1. macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #1
    Just a little note to say that someone with RAM authority (CanadaRAM?) should probably update the "Understanding Intel Mac RAM" guide as it doesn't have any info on the new DDR3 Macs.

    Thank you. :)
     
  2. macrumors regular

    JRob65a6

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    #2
    Ram for ???

    Different types of RAM for different applications. What needs RAM... Desktop, Laptop, ect.?
     
  3. macrumors G4

    Eraserhead

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    Why not update it yourself? No authority is needed...
     
  4. thread starter macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #4
    Okey, dokey....
     
  5. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    #5
    I updated the pages to mention the March '09 iMacs.
     
  6. macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    上海 (Shanghai)
    #6
    Exactly why it's in Wiki format ;)
     
  7. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    #7
    Can you purchase very high performance DD3 SD Ram that is 1600 Hhz instead of Apples stock 1066 Mhz? Is is a very costly upgrade?
     
  8. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    #8
    The last line isn't quite correct:

    The switch /3GB does indeed only affect the allocation of memory to applications, but the switch /PAE does allow 32 bit Windows to access more than 4 GB of RAM using Physical Address Extensions (a hardware feature which is how OS X accesses more than 4 GB of RAM in 32 bit mode).

    Microsoft has chosen not to implement PAE support in Windows XP, Windows Vista, and (I assume) Windows 7, so there is no way for those OSs to support more than 4 GB of RAM. On the other hand, Windows 2003, 2008, and 2008 R2 do support PAE, so the 32 bit versions should be able to support more than 4 GB of RAM.

    To use the the /3GB switch, the application must be compiled IMAGE_FILE_LARGE_ADDRESS AWARE.

    I'd edit the wiki myself, but I do not yet have edit privileges.
     

Share This Page