Intel switch VERY good for 3d artists out there :)

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Cosmo modo, Jan 15, 2006.

  1. Cosmo modo macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2005
    #1
    Hey all,

    Just wanted to let you know this:
    I work with an app called modo (which is used by Apple for 3d rendering benchmarks also).

    It turns out that the new Intel iMac Core Duo is almost as fast as a Quad PowerMac !!!

    The iMac took 36 seconds per frame during the render tests and the Quad Mac did it in 31 seconds.........
    They did mention that the Quad Mac felt faster during normal modelling tasks (OpenGL).

    Bring those Intel Macs :)
     
  2. BakedBeans macrumors 68040

    BakedBeans

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    Location:
    What's Your Favorite Posish
    #2
    im gutted that ive ordered the new imac



    not.
     
  3. Cosmo modo thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2005
    #3
    ??

    for 3d peeps like me it's a very good thing Apple turned to Intel.
    I just need Apple to use nVidia chips instead of ATI, that would be perfect for me. Although an ATI x1600 will do just fine :)

    Now only Adobe needs to hurry with Photoshop and i'll be ready to switch.
     
  4. BakedBeans macrumors 68040

    BakedBeans

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    Location:
    What's Your Favorite Posish
    #4
    Excuse my Sarcasm - That post Translates as

    I am so so so glad ive ordered the new intel imac - its going to SCREAM!

    I cant wait for the new photoshop either!
     
  5. Cosmo modo thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2005
    #5
    oh oké :) sorry English isn't my native language.
    some facts that make this comparison even more interesting:

    the iMac uses 2 threads while the Quad uses 4 threads !!!
     

Share This Page