Internal PC hard drive to external mac hard drive help?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by mizzi, Dec 10, 2005.

1. mizzi macrumors member

so i had a pc, recently bought a powerbook. on my old pc i had a 200 gig hard drive which i bought an external casing for, hooked it up and it looks gorgeous. however, it appears to be in read-only mode. i cant save anything to this drive.

i checked the jumper settings and everything seems to be in order. i can read files and open them from the drive (namely pictures, i'm a photographer.) the error that i get when trying to write to the drive has to do with not having permission or something...

it says it's in windows nt format...i'm assuming that's part of the issue. is there a way to fix this without having to back up all my info on dvds or another drive and reformatting?

thanks for your time and for your help.

<3Mark

2. slooksterPSV macrumors 68030

slooksterPSV

So NTFS does work on Mac OS X, but only as read-only, amazing you are like the first to let us know this. Now as for converting your drive, there's no way AFAIK. You'll have to compress all of the stuff you want to save in a DMG and put it on your computer locally... That's the only way I know how to do it. I could be wrong, I'll google and if I find an answer I'll let you know.

Peace

3. lordj4000 macrumors member

pfff... everyone knows that NTFS is read only on macs.;)

I had this same problem, what i did is i used partition magic to resize the ntfs partition and make a fat 32 partition, which macs can write too. I then copies everything to the other partition, deleted the ntfs partition and resized the fat32 to cover the whole drive.

If your mac has the space though, it might be better to go with slookster's idea.

4. mizzi thread starter macrumors member