Internet connection woes

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by macbooknewb, Aug 16, 2006.

  1. macbooknewb macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    #1
    Hey guys,
    I just pulled my new macbook out of the box today, and am trying to connect to the internet via the wireless network in the house. I connected to the network just fine but when I open safari to surf the internet I get the message "Safari cant open the page http://livepage.apple.com because your computer isnt connected to the internet". When I open the network in system preferences it says that"airport is connected to the network Home Airport has a self assigned ip address and may not be able to connect to the internet" how do I fix this? any and all help will be greatly appreciated
     
  2. iBS23 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2005
    #2
    Your router may be set to distribute DCHP addresses manually and limit access to certain ones. You just need to mannualy assign the address and ensure that your router is set to allow access from the address.

    What type of router are you using?
     
  3. macbooknewb thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
  4. iBS23 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2005
    #4

    I was afraid you'd say that. Its the one brand I know nothing about. In any event, if you've got the instruction manual for the router it will tell you how to enter the setup/preferences mode to change the settings (usually you point your web browser to some numerical address: http://198. . . . ). Once there, you'll want to ensure that you've got the DHCP settings are to assign the addresses automatically (or, if its set to distribute only certain addresses add another on for your mac -- change the last number of the address). You'll also want to see if the MAC filtering is on. If so, be sure to add you Mac's MAC address.

    On the mac side, be sure that your network preferences are set to either get the ip address from the DHCP server or to manually enter the info (using the manullly assigned number you obtain from the router).
     
  5. macbooknewb thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    #5
    thanks for the advice, I completely reset my wireless network and it started working, it must have been some unknown issue with the past settings, anyway I appreciate your help
     
  6. gothicx00 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    #6
    One thing to take into account. When you reset the router you probably nullifyied any/all wireless security settings. That could be a bad thing. Post back with the model of your d-link router and i'll walk you through getting all that set up, if need be.
     

Share This Page