Internet in Spain for Mactourists?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by 512ke, May 27, 2004.

  1. 512ke macrumors 6502a

    512ke

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2003
    #1
    Hi. Question. Does anyone here happen to know if there is a simple, good and cheap way to connect to the internet from a Mac in Spain? I know you can use AOL, but they charge 10 cents a minute. Has anyone ever heard of Tiscali? I know you can get DSL and/or ADSL in Spain, but there usually is a 1 year commitment. What I'm looking for is a reasonably priced connection (so among other things I can check Macrumors.com every day like the proud Mac fanster that I am). Thanks!
     
  2. superbovine macrumors 68030

    superbovine

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2003
    #2
    how long are you going to be staying? you said your a tourist? i would just use internet cafe's and whatever the hotel's offer.
     
  3. virividox macrumors 601

    virividox

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2003
    Location:
    Manila - Nottingham - Philadelphia - Santa Barbar
    #3
    i was just in spain for a month, internet access wasnt hard at all, if ur in madrid or barca they have wifi there that you can sign up for. but internet cafes are good enough, they range in price but its pretty standard 10 euro i think for an hour
     
  4. superbovine macrumors 68030

    superbovine

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2003
    #4
    think it the smaller tourist towns down south by the shore it is a bit a cheaper than 10 euros ;) its been a year though, so i dunno.
     
  5. elmimmo macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2002
    Location:
    Spain
    #5
    That is usually the case if you want them to bundle a modem or router (most modems they deliver have no drivers for mac, so router is really the only option, and still, you want to be sure they give it to you already configured, since if not most probably you'll need a windows pc because it will have http access disabled and you will not be able to configure it with a browser -I do not know if you usually have telnet off as well or not, but still...-). But if you already have your own equipment, that is not the case, I think. It costs an average of 39€/256Kbps(128upload), but there is one new offer of an operator breaking prices of 39€/1Gb(256upload), by jazztel.com, although it is quite new so I know no feedback about it, and is limited to certain areas. In this last case it is the same: 1 year commitment if you want a modem (for free) or a router (not free) and no commitment at all if you do not need extra equipment. Anyhow, be aware it will take about two weeks minimum to have ADSL operative whatever provider you choose.

    If you do not have a router and do not want to buy one yourself, or want internet access with no delay, the easiest option is then 56 Kbps dial up. Many providers do have instant free dial up access and you will just pay the phone bill. Or if not, you also have flat rate 56 Kbps (that is, you pay no additional phone bill) at different fees and different timetables (like flat rate from 18h to 8h). There are several providers that have such options, I have only used terra.es, though, which worked fine for me, but it really depends on where are you and what is the quality of your district operator (that what I guess, because I do know some friend that did not have a good quality service with the same service that I have).
     
  6. virividox macrumors 601

    virividox

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2003
    Location:
    Manila - Nottingham - Philadelphia - Santa Barbar
    #6
    yeah if ur in andulicia its much cheaper, but if you go to the main cities in catalunya or la mancha then it increases in price
     
  7. 512ke thread starter macrumors 6502a

    512ke

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2003
    #7
    Ok. So it sounds like the easiest thing is just to use dialup access. My "problem" (and a good one to have) is that I'm usually there for a month or two at a time. I'm also not really close to an internet cafe, so going there on a daily basis is impractical. I'll try Terra.es. Do I have to download proprietary software or can you just get a local access number off their website? I'll check it out on the web. I guess it would be more practical to take a PC laptop to Spain in terms of compatibility and access. However, I am not a practical person. Thanks for the input and suggestions!
     
  8. elmimmo macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2002
    Location:
    Spain
    #8
    You need no additional software whatsoever for whatever v. of Mac OS you are using. I just checked it and it is right at the top of the side menu where it says "ACCESO A INTERNET: [...] Básico". There inside, there are 3 options: free dial up is the obvious one: "Terra Básico [...] ¡Gratis!...".

    Once you have signed up, go back to terra.es and choose the option at the top bar "usuarios terra/configuración/acceso a internet/Macintosh" (gosh, English and Spanish are pretty much the same thingy ^_-). That tutorial is for Mac OS 9, but if you are a not-necessarily-such-an-advanced user, you'll work it out. You will there see a phone number listed common for whole Spain, 908 200 290, but fear not, its associated price is that of a local call. For more info about what the phone will cost you go to http://www.telefonica.es/tol/tarifastelefoniafija.html (itis mentioned that this is it for 908 in the last section, in a link to a pdf). Unless I am malinformed, then, 0.0099 €/min from 18h to 8h, and 0.0240 €/min from 8h to 18h.

    > I'm usually there for a month or two at a time.

    Also one thing more to note, although I guess it is this way everywhere: having a phone line cots a flat fee, besides how much you talk. That is, you'll be paying a minimum whether or not you use the phone. And if you need it to be installed because the apartment you go to doesnot have a phone line, installation also requires some time...
     
  9. 512ke thread starter macrumors 6502a

    512ke

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2003
    #9
    Thank you!!! Your expertise and input are greatly appreciated! I may sign up with Terra today and try to connect (via international long distance) from the States, just to make sure I can figure out how to make everything work. I have this fear of being in Spain with my Mac unable to get online to stay in contact with my employers. I don't know many people in Spain who use Macs or many places even to buy Macs in Spain. If, as you suggest, the dial up solution is a simple one, then I will be very happy!
    Thanks again!
     
  10. billyboy macrumors 65816

    billyboy

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2003
    Location:
    In my head
    #10
    Based on what I did:

    If you have your own non-resident's Spanish bank account and a Spanish friend, go along to a retecal outlet. You can sign up the house to broadband in your friend's name (on their dni card), but arrange for monies to be debited direct from your account. Retecal seem to have deals for cheap installation, and they work on a per month contract, not an annual one, so just give them notice and you can have broadband at your temporary home for a minimum of a month. My Powerbook just plugged and played the modem - ethernet. Viva la manzana!
     

Share This Page