1. Welcome to the new MacRumors forums. See our announcement and read our FAQ

Internet Love

Discussion in 'Community' started by mrjamin, May 27, 2003.

1. macrumors 65816

mrjamin

Ever met a boyfriend/girlfriend over the internet?

what are your thoughts on internet dating?

2. macrumors G4

Re: Internet Love

Creepy.

3. macrumors 68040

applemacdude

no...it sounds strange.....maybe because it is

4. Moderator emeritus

eyelikeart

My last 2 girlfriends were met from the internet...5 years worth of girlfriends to be precise.

The way I see it, I'd much prefer to meet someone off the net than in a bar. However, there's also the slight of chance in meeting people.

I don't see the big deal in meeting women off the net, mostly because I've been doing it for a while now (6 years...wow) and I've been pretty fortunate not to run into the stereotypical situation. ;)

5. Moderator emeritus

Mr. Anderson

I've done it - and its great. Also I've been hearing that a lot more people are going online to find a date :D

The nice thing about it is that you can really learn a lot about the person before you meet them, their sense of humor, they're intelligence, etc.

Now, sure, they could all be lying, but eventually if you plan on meeting them you make it at a public place and casual.

And usually you'd swap pics before you meet.

D

6. macrumors 65816

Foxer

My college roommate met his now-wife on the net. Chatted a few times, finally met her in person, got her pregnant that day, married happily for five years or so.

I never tried it myself, but after the initial yiiickk response it does seem as though it would have some advantages.

7. Administrator

Doctor Q

Staff Member

I personally know three people who found their spouse (not just a boyfriend/girlfriend) on the net.

1. Married man. Hooked up with a woman on the Internet. Divorced his wife and moved to another state to live with the woman he met. I don't know if he's happy or not. :confused: