Internet not working on Macs - Works fine on PCs

Discussion in 'Mac OS X 10.3 (Panther) Discussion' started by DougJrS, Nov 17, 2004.

  1. DougJrS macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2004
    Location:
    Kansas City
    #1
    I need some help on this one. I have a problem that the internet on my G5 and on my iMac have stoped working mostly. Actully I can get to google.com just fine, but if I try any other site I get a little bit of the blue hilighting and then nothing.

    Email from RoadRunner seems to be just fine, but email from .Mac is verrrrry slow. I have RoadRunner and they were out today and could not find any problems. Which I can understand since I am posting this from my PC which is working 100%.

    I have also found that I can update my virus software, but I cannot get to the the Apple update site (from the Apple icon at the top of the screen). I also cannot connect to my iDisk.

    I have tried to "reset" Safari, but that didn't do any good. I have also opened a terminal window and pinged several sites successfully, but even if I can ping the site I cannot get to it in Safari.

    Any help is appricated.

    Thanks,
    Doug
     
  2. MisterMe macrumors G4

    MisterMe

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    USA
    #2
    Since you said absolutely nothing about your network, I can only guess about the cause of your problem. I advise you to get a router. Connect your cable modem to the WAN port of a router. Connect each of your computers to a LAN port on the router. Use DHCP to configure IPv4.
     
  3. Daveman Deluxe macrumors 68000

    Daveman Deluxe

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Location:
    Corvallis, Oregon
    #3
    I have had a very similar problem before. I reinstalled Safari and everything started working fine again.
     
  4. blaster_boy macrumors 6502

    blaster_boy

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2004
    Location:
    Belgium
    #4
    If you still have the problem, please give us something more to work with - how is your network setup ?

    Are both PC's and Macs on the same network ?
    Do you use DHCP or fixed IP addresses ?
    Are you behind a router or firewall ?
    Some wireless, some wired connections ?

    Let us know ! :p
     
  5. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
  6. DougJrS thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2004
    Location:
    Kansas City
    #6
    Network Setup

    Sorry - I guess that would be helpful. I have four computers connected to a hub that is then connected to a Linksys router, firewall, DHCP server. All the IP addresses are configured by DHCP. The four comuters are my G5, iMac, XP and 2000 system. I also have a wireless network with a Tivo and a 98 laptop and a 2000 laptop connected.

    I have seen that I have some packet loss between by network and the internet. RoadRunner is going to come look at that tommrow. Are Macs more sensitive to packet loss then PC?
     
  7. Westside guy macrumors 601

    Westside guy

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    Location:
    The soggy side of the Pacific NW
    #7
    Packet loss is generally problematic for any computer, regardless of OS.

    Is the "hub" you describe really a hub, as opposed to a switch/router? If so, I would hazard a guess that the problem lies there. Hubs throw packets everywhere and leave it up to the machines to sort out which ones apply to them. If the hub is connected to your upstream internet, it's also throwing lots of extraneous packets up that way.
     
  8. DougJrS thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2004
    Location:
    Kansas City
    #8
    It's a hub

    It really is a hub. I find it strange that this has worked for a year with no problems, and now we have problems.
     
  9. Daveman Deluxe macrumors 68000

    Daveman Deluxe

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Location:
    Corvallis, Oregon
    #9
    I've said it before, but had no link.

    http://www.apple.com/safari/

    Download Safari, delete the old copy, and re-install Safari. I've had the exact problem you're describing, and reinstaling Safari fixed things right up.
     

Share This Page