internet on a G3

Discussion in 'Apple Collectors' started by fatandlazy11, Mar 10, 2006.

  1. fatandlazy11 macrumors member

    fatandlazy11

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2006
    Location:
    Depends on my mood
    #1
    Hi all, I've owned an iMac G3 (233 MHz or 266 MHz, im not sure) about a year ago, and i purchased it to replace my Windows Machine as my main computer. I rarely play high-tech games ( I love to play games created before my birth.) and all i really want to do is surf the web, do email, and maybe download a thing or two. But the iMac has OS 8.5, joust 0.1 systems away from the minimum specifications for my web service. I tried hooking it up to the net, and just trying and hopeing for it to work. it didn't, and i dont know how i can get it to work, any answers?
     
  2. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

    WildCowboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #2
    8.6 is a free upgrade...you can download it here.

    You can also upgrade to a newer operating system by purchasing one from Apple or another source.
     
  3. fatandlazy11 thread starter macrumors member

    fatandlazy11

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2006
    Location:
    Depends on my mood
    #3
    hmm... will the G3 read a disc written by a windoze computer? It cant play the Music CD's I burn.... But other then that thanx
     
  4. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #4
    Can it read other discs? Some older CD-ROM's don't like to read burned media. I haven't had any problems with Windows compatibility running 8.6.
     
  5. strider42 macrumors 65816

    strider42

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2002
    #5
    While 8.6 may be required by the ISP, I can pretty much guarantee it would work under 8.5 as well. they are basically the exact same system. but as already pointed out 8.6 is a free update, and a good one at that. Well worth doing. The procedures for getting it to work wiht 8.5 or 8.6 will be exactly the same.

    I use a 233 mhz iMac myself. Its getting long in the tooth now, but still does a decent job for basic stuff.
     
  6. jhu macrumors 6502a

    jhu

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2004
    #6
    just get os x. at least i find it acceptable for my g3
     
  7. Maxwell Smart macrumors 6502a

    Maxwell Smart

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    #7
    yeah, if you upgrade the RAM to about 256-384MB then you should be able to run Jaguar/Panther for basic stuff just fine.
     
  8. Sly macrumors 6502

    Sly

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Location:
    Airstrip One
    #8
    As others have already said upgrade to OS 8.6, it should run fine on the iMac even with stock ram. If your not sure what settings you need to use, I'm sure there used to be an internet connection utility in OS 8 which guides you through the steps. Are you using dial up or Broadband? If your imac has 128mb+ of RAM, it would be well worth your while upgrading to OS X 10.2 or 10.3.
     
  9. fatandlazy11 thread starter macrumors member

    fatandlazy11

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2006
    Location:
    Depends on my mood
    #9
    Well, I tried downloading 8.6 (On a windows machine.. What was I thinking?) it didn't work. Late yesterday, I tried hooking it up to the internet again, went through the entire process, and it couldn't find the connection. By the way, I have broadband. I use this service: www.beecreek.net I dont know if they support macs, but i sent them an email asking.
     
  10. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #10
    If you've activated the broadband and you're not locked in via MAC Address or software dialer then the iMac should just pick up an IP address when you plug in the ethernet.
     
  11. frankblundt macrumors 65816

    frankblundt

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Location:
    South of the border
    #11
    how are you connecting?
    If you have a usb modem you may have problems getting drivers for it under 8.5, but if it's an ethernet router/modem you shouldn't need to do anything other than plug it in and set TCP/IP to DCHP to get underway.

    Like the others, I'd recommend picking up a copy of Panther and a RAM upgrade (both reasonably cheap second-hand), which will make the process even more straightforward.
     
  12. Mord macrumors G4

    Mord

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Location:
    UK
    #12
    if you have a usb modem run an ethernet cable between the pc and imac and share the connection.
     
  13. Sly macrumors 6502

    Sly

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Location:
    Airstrip One
    #13
    You should be able to download the update on a PC, just leave it compressed & decompress it on your Mac.
     
  14. trainguy77 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
  15. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #15
    I have a copy of 9.2.1 that I'm willing to part with. :p
     
  16. fatandlazy11 thread starter macrumors member

    fatandlazy11

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2006
    Location:
    Depends on my mood
    #16
    Really? How much?
     
  17. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #17
    $25 shipped in the US. It'd be USPS Priority Mail. It's flat rate.
     
  18. Maxwell Smart macrumors 6502a

    Maxwell Smart

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    #18
    Honestly, I'd just go with Jaguar/Panther, you'll LOVE the OS X experience ;)
     
  19. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #19
    Yeah, that works too. It requires a RAM upgrade, firmware, and OS discs. 9.2.1 should run just fine with no other upgrades.
     
  20. fatandlazy11 thread starter macrumors member

    fatandlazy11

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2006
    Location:
    Depends on my mood
  21. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #21
    Mailing me a check would work or PayPal.
     
  22. California macrumors 68040

    California

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    #22
    Go Panther. Just got off the phone with a friend who has a bondi 233mhz G3 and I put in an 80 gig 7200rpm deskstar hard drive and 384mbs of ram and she runs Panther like a champ on dsl.
     
  23. madmax_2069 macrumors 6502a

    madmax_2069

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    Springfield Ohio
    #23
    well you can alway's go into the system/prefrence folder and deleat the tcp/ip file and the internet file. i cant remember if it was called tcp/ip in OS 8.5 but its the same thing . it has a built in ethernet open the prefrence paine to tcp/ip and select use ethernet and select use dhcp server and it should work. i use sbc global dsl and they say they dont support my Mac either but it works fine and get great speed. i do how ever own a router spliting the connection with my cousins windows pc and my Mac and 2 xbox's. i have to use the windows pc to setup the inital install and activation of the dsl modem than it all was good from there.

    yea 8.5 should work on the net just fine somthing is not set right
     
  24. Sweetfeld28 macrumors 65816

    Sweetfeld28

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2003
    Location:
    Buckeye Country, O-H
    #24

    Well, i guess its a good thing i don't have epilepsy anymore [looking at Hector's avatar, and signature].
     

Share This Page