Internet So Slow!

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by ebmx66, Apr 5, 2006.

  1. ebmx66 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    #1
    I have comcast and my internet is ridiculously slow.....

    i did speed checks on www.2wire.com and it came out as 388, 212, 208, 235 kbps

    also when i download audio on limewire it usually only runs at about 20kb/s

    i am using a Motorola SB5120 modem and a Netgear WGR614 router

    any suggestions on what to do or on a new setup?

    thanks much appreciated
     
  2. lonegeek macrumors member

    lonegeek

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    #2
    Try hooking directly to modem...
    How old is the modem? My grandfathers cable got ridicously slow and it turned out to be a faulty modem... Has it been faster before?
     
  3. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #3
    Also, turn off LimeWire. That app can seriously mess with an internet connection. I'd unplug the modem and the router for thirty seconds and then see if it's any better. Have LimeWire off during this time. This might be able to distinguish whether this is a hardware issue in your network or not. :)
     
  4. Demon Hunter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2004
    #4
    LimeWire has the worst code ever. I bet that's the source of your problem.
     
  5. ebmx66 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    #5
    what program should I use instead of limewire......

    are both the pieces of hardware (modem n router) good products?

    ill try what u guys said when I get home tonight

    thanks
     
  6. lonegeek macrumors member

    lonegeek

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    #6
    Phex is a decent alternative....

    I had a motorola sb5100 for about 2 years and it worked fine...

    I dont have any experience with netgear though...
     
  7. ebmx66 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    #7
    ok.... i tried unplugging them both while limewire was off for 30 seconds.

    After i hooked them back up again and the internet was working i did two more speed checks and they were both in the 250-350 kbps range?
     
  8. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #8
    Is it an Intel Mac perchance? :)

    I don't think I've ever used the word perchance before in my life... Well, there's a first time for everything. I'm excited.
     
  9. ebmx66 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
  10. macpastor macrumors regular

    macpastor

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2006
    #10
    What kind of modem is it? Did you purchase it or is it provided by the cable company? Also, has there been alot of rain in your area recently? I have had problems with internet speed after lots of rain. Although Charter cable is not the greatest, maybe Comcast is better.
     
  11. khisayruou macrumors 6502a

    khisayruou

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    #12
    Try turning off IPv6 and see if that helps any.

    System Pref >> Network >> Airport Config >> TCP/IP >> Config IPv6
     
  12. ebmx66 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    #13
    it is a Motorola SB5120 it was provided/suggested from comcast though we did pay for it.........

    we havent had a lot of rain and it usually doesn't bother my internet
     
  13. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #14
    You've yet to say what speed of broadband you're paying for..
     
  14. Demon Hunter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2004
    #15
    There's a lot of options. Click here and look under the "Gnutella" heading.
     
  15. ebmx66 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    #17
    i have dsl........

    i tried turning off IPv6 and it didnt do anything

    ive got a new problem too.... whenever i try to download anything, in the downloads box underneath the file name it will say

    "-cannot create file" and won't download
     
  16. lonegeek macrumors member

    lonegeek

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    #18
    Hmm thats weird...you said you have comcast and a Motorola SB5120 modem

    Comcast only offers cable, and that modem is for cable.....

    So how do you have dsl?
     
  17. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #19
    And what is the DOWNLOAD SPEED YOU'RE PAYING FOR?
     
  18. ebmx66 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    #20
    oh i thought that cable and dsl were very similar and my parents told me we have dsl i guess we have cable then.......

    i dont know what u are talking about when u ask what download speed we are paying for
     
  19. bousozoku Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #21
    I checked my DSL speed on the same page and got these results: 65.7, 142.40, 113.60, 157.70.

    Part of the problem with this test is it has little meaning:
    I have a 1.5 Mbps down/256 Kbps up line.

    I tried the other two and PC Pitstop couldn't run the upload test because the FTP port is blocked.

    Speakeasy gave me 1244 down and 207 up.
     
  20. emaja macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #22
    Don't use that speet test as it never gives me an accurate speed at all. I have no idea how they get their speeds, but it shows my connection as 1.2 mbps while my network activity shows the speed as 4.2 mbps - and I am paying for 4 meg connection from InsightBB.

    Use PC Pitstop instead. It is more accurate.

    That said, what are you paying for? Typical DSL is about 1.5 mbps, unless you have a premium package of 2-3 mbps. Typical cable is 4-6 mbps.

    Go into your system prefs an open the netoworking panel. Make sure that your connection - either ethernet or Airport - is listed first, see if there is anything listed in the DNS field. If so, write it down - just in case - and then remove them. Sometimes DNS servers change and your provider might have switched without telling you. Also, turn off IPv6 as it sometimes screws ups both PC and Mac connections.

    Do these one at a time of course to see which one has an effect. If nothing, then try plugging directly into the modem and test your speeds. If they are faster, then it might be your router. Try resetting it and if that makes no difference, then it might have gone bad. They do that, but fortunately they are affordable to replace - around $30-$40.
     
  21. Electro Funk macrumors 65816

    Electro Funk

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2005
    Location:
    The Opium Garden
    #23
    This is always pretty darn accurate - http://www.speakeasy.net/speedtest/

    I get around 6990kbps down and 465kbps up from my cable modem..

    (Brighthouse just tuned us up to 7mb/s DL's!) BLAZING FAST!
     
  22. lonegeek macrumors member

    lonegeek

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    #24
    Whoa thats nice upload for cable.... We switched to DSL....

    Our cable was about 5mbits down/256k upload

    We went to dsl..cause of price with bundled stuff....

    3mbits down/ 512k upload ... Its not that bad really.... I think it was almost worth it..Especially since with dsl they dont care if you run a webserver... And i use bit torrent so thats nice to be able to seed it rather quick
     
  23. maxterpiece macrumors 6502a

    maxterpiece

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2003
    #25
    I recommend calling comcast. I believe they have 24 hour free tech support. The people can do some things to test the line that you can't do.
     

Share This Page