Internet Speed now 12 mbps in OC with Cox

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by G5Unit, Aug 9, 2006.

  1. G5Unit macrumors 68020

    G5Unit

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2005
    Location:
    I'm calling the cops
    #1
    As much as I dislike Cox for many reasons (barely any HD channels, constant problems with connection) they have just upgraded out internet speed to 12 mbps. Not sure how this compares to everyone else but when we first signed up it was 256 kbps!

    If you could post what company and what speed they offer in your area I'd like to know.
     
  2. DMPDX macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2005
    #2
    Comcast:



    High Speed Internet, Currently getting around 8 mbps with burst at 9, upload speed is still cr@p at around 500 :(

    Are you running anything else off of your 12 mbps aka digital voice/xbox live/etc? And if so how does it handle it? I am debating wether or not to upgrade to a faster connection so I can do everything simoultaneously.
    -dsm
     
  3. ®îçhå®? macrumors 68000

    ®îçhå®?

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    #3
    My ISP is BT and the connection speed is 387.4kbps.
     
  4. Kardashian macrumors 68020

    Kardashian

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Location:
    Britain.
    #4
    Mine is BT also, and I'm at 640kbps.

    You 2 meggers don't realise how lucky you have it!

    Our area does 8MB, the house like 500M's away gets it - but we don't. And we're all on the same exchange.

    I hate BT. Not the broadband (well I do) - but the lines as well. Useless.
     
  5. ®îçhå®? macrumors 68000

    ®îçhå®?

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    #5
    That is exactly the same problem with me but it is like 10m Makes me angrier!!!! :mad:
    We can get bulldog but that is like twice the price and it comes last in customer satisfaction surveys.
     
  6. irmongoose macrumors 68030

    irmongoose

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2001
    Location:
    Sometimes Tokyo, sometimes California
    #6
    Currently cruising at 4700kbps download speed, maximum 1.5MBps, on a 100Mbps line here in Tokyo. Somehow I feel I'm going to miss the speed when I move to CA for college in ten days. :(




    irmongoose
     
  7. BlizzardBomb macrumors 68030

    BlizzardBomb

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2005
    Location:
    England
    #7
    Now that's why I use cable. On 4MB at the moment, 10MB if I really wanted to.
     
  8. Kardashian macrumors 68020

    Kardashian

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Location:
    Britain.
    #8
    See if you can get a contract free service with Broadband. That way you get the speed, and if they start being b@st@rds you can change back to BT.

    I can't wait for Uni. To go to Cardiff, Chester or London and have actual, proper, high-speed broadband.. I dont think I'll move for about 4 hours from the computer!
     
  9. Kardashian macrumors 68020

    Kardashian

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Location:
    Britain.
    #9
    Now to sound really stupid.. whats cable? And, can I geddit? :D
     
  10. G5Unit thread starter macrumors 68020

    G5Unit

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2005
    Location:
    I'm calling the cops
    #10

    I have Xbox Live and 5 computers hooked up(wireless, xbox and my compy are wired) with a DLink DGL-4300. I actually have 7 mbps since we have the slower service.
     
  11. ~Shard~ macrumors P6

    ~Shard~

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Location:
    1123.6536.5321
    #11
    SaskTel (the company I work for!)

    Currently 3 Mbps downstream via ADSL. In a month, 20 Mbps via ADSL 2+. In October, 40 Mbps via VDSL. We've offered IPTV service for over 3 years now, that's old news for us - but we're always ahead of the game it seems. :p ;) :cool:
     
  12. pianoman macrumors 68000

    pianoman

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    #12
    i have Comcast in the greater Washington DC area and I get speeds around 4 or 5, sometimes 6 Mbps. My friend, who also has Comcast, and lives up the street, got 11 Mbps the other day but I think that was an anomaly. He usually gets around 8. i can't figure out why he gets more than i do but 4/5/6Mbps is still great.
     
  13. telecomm macrumors 65816

    telecomm

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Location:
    Rome
    #13
    Just tested my BT connection: 5.1 Mbps down, 332 Kbps up.
     
  14. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
  15. MacNut macrumors Core

    MacNut

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2002
    Location:
    CT
    #15
    Cox here in CT has two plans 5 and 15 kbps, Im pulling a strong 5 with about 1.5 up.
     
  16. ~Shard~ macrumors P6

    ~Shard~

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Location:
    1123.6536.5321
    #16
    Here in my province, any community with a popluation of 400 people or more has High Speed access - at least 1.5 Mbps DSL. We're pretty spoiled here. :D :cool:
     
  17. BlizzardBomb macrumors 68030

    BlizzardBomb

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2005
    Location:
    England
    #17
    See for yourself.

    NTL
    Telewest
     
  18. jaxstate macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2006
  19. extraextra macrumors 68000

    extraextra

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Location:
    California
    #19
    Damn I live in OC but I don't have Cox. I have Verizon DSL and I get 768kbps.
     
  20. the kid 05 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    Location:
    St. Charles Illinois (subdiv of Chi-town)
    #20
    thinking about upgrading my sbc global yahoo dsl to their 12 mbs for 27.99 instead of my 1 mbs for 18 a month
     
  21. iPhil macrumors 68040

    iPhil

    #21
    Just did the speedtest on speakeasy.com .. it came up @ 4415kbps/417kbps thats from City of Angels servers ... i'm on Adelphia>>TimeWarner line :eek: :eek:
     

Share This Page