Internet Surfing on my Tv..

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by albertfreestyle, Mar 31, 2006.

  1. albertfreestyle macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2006
    Location:
    California
    #1
    Does anyone know how I can hook up my MacBook to surf the web (or use other apps) on my TV?
    (using my surrond sound)
     
  2. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #2
    Without you telling us anything about your TV, no. Does your TV have a DVI input? A 15pin VGA input? S-Video? Composite? Component? How about sound? Optical SPDIFF? Co-axial digital?

    Also why do you want to surf the web with surround sound?
     
  3. zami macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2003
    Location:
    South London
    #3
  4. albertfreestyle thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2006
    Location:
    California
    #4

    i can hook up to it with the dvi out on my mac...the tv has a dvi input....sorry
    i was just thinking about using the tv as a larger screen to design (graphic/web) with...and occasional interenet surfin
     
  5. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #5
    Note that a physically larger screen does not mean you will have a higher resolution. Most newish HD TVs run at around 1300x700 (not exact). If you are lucky you might get a bit more.
     
  6. albertfreestyle thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2006
    Location:
    California
    #6

    really?
    i am not aware of this. i havent tried it yet
    i admit, i was looking for more real estate than my 15" powerbook
     
  7. skubish macrumors 68030

    skubish

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Location:
    Ann Arbor, Michigan
    #7
    The macbook screen resolution is 1440x900. Most TVs are not higher than this. Look for 1080p tvs like the Sony SXRDs 1920x1080 resolution.
     
  8. Chase265 macrumors newbie

    Chase265

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    #8
    you can just hook up the DVI and get wireless keyboard and mouse if you want to go that route
     
  9. albertfreestyle thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2006
    Location:
    California
    #9
    thats what i was planning on doing, just for fun...i have a 42" plasma...im not sure on the resolution but ill try it out
     

Share This Page