iPod Touch Internet without Wifi, iPod Touch

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by Frozn1, Mar 16, 2008.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    Wetaskiwin, Alberta, Canada
    #1
    Haven't seen much on this topic but I think it would be great for everyone to be able to use the internet through their usb connection compared to having to find a wifi connection. I don't think there are any installer apps for doing this yet. I don't see why it can't be done, so I hope someone has ideas.
     
  2. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    #2
    I don't understand... How do you get the Internet through a USB connection without having an Internet enabled PC or Mac attached to the Touch in the first place... therefore, you might as well use the computer, no?

    Sorry - might be missing your point?
     
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    Wetaskiwin, Alberta, Canada
    #3
    Sorry, I didn't say that I want to use the internet on my iPod touch and use installer without having a wifi connection. :eek:
     
  4. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2007
    Location:
    Ireland.
    #4
    If you have a mac its easy to share your internet via wifi:
    1.Turn on 'Internet Sharing' from your connection to Airport in 'Sharing' in 'System Preferences'.
    2.Enable Airport.
    3.Connect via wifi on your ipod touch.

    I'm sure theres a way to share your internet wirelessly on windows but I spent days looking for a way with no luck :(
     
  5. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    Wetaskiwin, Alberta, Canada
    #5
    Great tip, Thanks.

    Were I work there is no wireless internet at all, completely wired, I want to plug my iPod Touch into the USB port and have internet from the wired connection go into my touch through the USB. I really want to know if thats possible.
     
  6. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    #6
    i was able to connect to internet on ipod touch 1.1.2 through ad hoc network creted on my laptop(vista) but once i upgraded to 1.1.4 no such luck, i guess these may be one of those bug fixes apple was talking about.
     
  7. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    #7
    Hi Nitromaster,

    I can't connect my ipod touch through wifi from my iMac G5, I'm on firmware 1.1.4. Is that causing the problem? Any suggestion!! Thanks.
     
  8. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    #8
    You can enable network sharing on a PC, but only if it has at least two networking options installed such as a wifi card (or USB wifi dongle) and ethernet jack in it. Notebooks almost all come with wifi and an ethernet jack, but desktops usually have just ethernet. If you're plugged into the interent/network via ethernet then you can turn on the wifi and share it as an ad-hoc network. In corporations that are all wired, it is often done for security. Anyone opening up a wireless node would be strongly discouraged.

    I can see the desire to have internet on the Touch anyway that is possible, but in an office were your could do all the internet browsing you wanted on the PC you'd be sharing from I don't really see the point. If you think using your Touch would allow you some privacy not available on the company's PC, realize that all your traffic will be going through the same network and the company's network administrator would see your Touch activity the same as he/she would see your offic PC's activity.
     
  9. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    Wetaskiwin, Alberta, Canada
    #9
    All right

    so is it impossible to share the internet through the USB connection?
     
  10. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    #10
    I too would love wired internet on the iPod touch!

    Well, for one do see why one would want to do this. Before getting my iPod Touch, I had an iPaq HX4705 Windows Mobile 5 PDA with WiFi but when I docked it at work to my PC, I was still able to surf the internet on my PDA while docked to the PC. I would love to do this on the iPod so that I could run Installer APP and install more applications. Lunch time is often my only free time to do this. Then I could play the cool games I installed on my train ride home!
     
  11. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    Wetaskiwin, Alberta, Canada
  12. macrumors 68000

    EvanLugh

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Location:
    Developer land
    #12
    Yes. Just go on ebay or best buy/Asda and spend 5£ on a cheap wireless card.
     
  13. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2005
    #13
    Noo!

    I get this on every forum that I read. People ask a simple question or want help with one thing, connecting without wifi, and all they get is "why would you want to do that? use your computer!"

    I'm sure there are a multitude of reasons for other people, but I am at a no-wifi office and the only way I could ever sync my work MS-Outlook public/shared calendar and public/shared task list would be directly connected to my work internet. Without wifi, I am forced to look for a pass-through-my-desktop system. It would really make my ipod touch the ultimate organizer/datebook on top of everything else and such a minor oversight, as not allowing USB internet is ridiculous. Every other device with 1/100 the complexity of this device has had this feature.

    If someone has found something since the last post here, please let me know!
     
  14. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
  15. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    #15
    http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/using/networking/expert/bowman_02april08.mspx

    OK, I want the same. I don't have a wireless router, but have a laptop with a Wireless card. Thanks to the above poster mentioning adhoc networking. I googled and got this link. I followed the instructions yesterday to a tee, and no luck. Tried several tweaks, and finally when I firewalled my ethernet connection and DISABLED firewall on the wireless, viola!

    Good luck!
     
  16. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Location:
    Victoria, Australia
    #16
    USB Dongle???

    Ok, so I have a Windows XP SP2 desktop computer connected to a dial-up modem (i can't get broadband where i live), is there like a USB dongle that i can plug into my computer that would create enough WI-FI that I could use on my iPod (2nd gen)

    YES I KNOW I COULD JUST USE THE INTERNET THROUGH MY COMPUTER, but: i had to pay for the ipod and the price included all the WI-FI components and stuff so I might as well use it or else i am getting kinda ripped off.

    Do such dongles exist???
    P.S. I know this may be hard to understand, but i typed it really quick :} Sorry!


    MI986
    --------------------
    mi986.deviantart.com
    ASUS Windows XP SP2 Desktop, iPod Touch 2G, and uh, a Nintendo DS Lite
     
  17. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    #17
    yeah any usb wifi adapter should work, 802.11b/g
    just bridge the networks and it should be all good.
    probably not worth while on dial up though. (whats that like 7 kb per second download)
     
  18. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Location:
    Victoria, Australia
    #18
    Please Elaborate

    Could be a stupid question, but:
    'Bridge the networks'? What does this mean???

    Oh and dial-up -- try more like 4kb per seccond lol (it sucks!)
    By the way, does anyone know why you use a 56kbps modem, but stuff downloads at only 4kbps ?????? :confused:


    Thanx!

    MI986
    --------------------
    mi986.deviantart.com
    ASUS Windows XP SP2 Desktop, iPod Touch 2G, and uh, a Nintendo DS Lite
     
  19. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    #19
    56 kiloBITSpersecond is roughly 7 kiloBYTESpersecond ideally, minus line noise, network overhead, etc.. you get the 4kbps.

    Remember 8 bits = 1 byte!
     
  20. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    #20
    This would help since I'm in a corp setting where everything is wired for security reasons. I have a wireless card in my machine, but IT would kill me if I shared the network.

    I'm sure there is a way to do it through USB - I use to do it all the time with some older WM devices. If there isn't an app, I'm sure it can be done.
     
  21. macrumors 6502a

    jbernie

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2005
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    #21
    We have wireless but you need the MAC address loaded, so unless you are budy budy with someone who can do that the wireless isn't possible.
     
  22. wwi
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2008
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    #22
    On a semi related topic, now that the G2 iPod Touch has audio input via the headphone jack enabling VoIP with mic-enabled headphones, will there be possibility of getting one of the mobile broadband for laptops working with the Touch?
     
  23. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    #23
    The best way (IMO) to use a broadband card with the iPod Touch is to get a USB data card through your wireless carrier and put it in one of these http://www.cradlepoint.com/

    It will make a personal "wifi hotspot" in your house,or you can get a "mobile" sized model # PHS300 and take it with you and use it any where your carrier has broadband.The PHS300 has a battery built in that will let you surf for 3-4 hours.

    If it wasn't for wireless broadband,I would be in dial-up hell. :D

    Oh yeah, to answer your question about VoIP.It can be done easily IF you have a good signal to a cell tower.I found REV B EVDO to be lacking too much speed(and too much latency) for VoIP,but if you have a REVA 3G tower in your area you should be good to go.
     
  24. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    #24
    Ug, yes you're missing the point.

    Basically if you don't have wireless, then everything that separates the touch from an ipod is completely useless.

    I really hate "I don't see why you'd do that" answers. So many people are coming to this thread to find an answer, and you've created a useless post by explaining why you - out of the thousands who want to find an answer - wouldn't use it.

    I'm sorry for cluttering this forum with my response, but no matter how many threads I look for, and how many google searches I do, every answer is the same... "Why would you want to do that." Such a useless response
     
  25. macrumors newbie

    sr20det91

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    #25
    easy to do wirelessly if you have a windows smartphone. download this program at www.wmwifirouter.com and turn wm 6.0 and above smartphone/pocket pc into an ad hoc wireless router. I use it everyday with my tilt and it works like a champ. Oh yeah..make sure you have an unlimited data plan.
     

Share This Page