Interview of Phil Sulak of Westlake regarding Halo Mac port.

Discussion in 'Games' started by MacBytes, Sep 9, 2003.

  1. MrMacMan macrumors 604

    MrMacMan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Location:
    1 Block away from NYC.
    #2
    Does anyone else find this weird that it will run on a Xbox, but not My FP iMac?!?!?!?!!?


    :eek: :confused:
     
  2. nagromme macrumors G5

    nagromme

    Joined:
    May 2, 2002
    #3
    Not surprising at all. Microsoft bought Bungee and Halo with it, and made them delay BOTH the Mac and PC versions, in order to boost the XBox. Now they are permitting the other versions to be completed.
     
  3. frescies macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #4
    yea...

    I remember when Apple introduced the guy from Bungie who was working on the project in its later stages (before the buyout, and the delay) at some expo of some sort. He came out on stage and played Halo on the big screen. It was amazing back then. And he promised it would have a simultaneous release :(.
     
  4. sketchy macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Location:
    Richmond VA
    #5
    Re: yea...


    that sucked so much... completely unfair.. there were playable multilayer mac beta's available. I think it was demo's on a G3 at macworld./ MacAddict had ti on one of their CD's. I refused to buy an xbox because of the whole bungie buyout. I LOVED marathon

    I think it is a shame that they killed the company.. and by company i mean the creative forces behind it. I don't know how many left, but microsoft had more than a few bungie desserters.

    Dave
    (am I stilla newbie?)
     
  5. tomf87 macrumors 65816

    tomf87

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2003
    #6
    Nope. The XBox was designed for games thus it had a nice graphics chipset built-in. The iMac has a graphics chipset that gets by, but with not-so-hot performance.
     
  6. Fukui macrumors 68000

    Fukui

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    #7
    I think its more to do with the fact that a)Xbox games are at 640X480 while most PC games run at higher res and therefore need faster chips/higher bandwidth and b) with Xbox you don't have to worry about programming "to the metal" because its a static system...you are guaranteed a non-changing platform and *can* if done right, extract an order of magnitude more performance than from any PC/Mac...I am sure they are cleaning out a lot of fast-on-Xbox but unusable-anywhere-else code, and replacing it with more general cross-platform stuff. It takes time...
     
  7. Dont Hurt Me macrumors 603

    Dont Hurt Me

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2002
    Location:
    Yahooville S.C.
    #8
    just to make a comment the xbox has a 733 and geforce3 chip, i have read this optimized pure game machine was equal to about a 933. and since its 640x480 everything does very well. i would say since most games are cpu bound you will need at least 1 gig g4 to be in the game with at least a geforce3 video card, not 2mx or 4mx.
     
  8. lewdvig macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2002
    Location:
    South Pole
    #9
    The XBox plays this at NTSC resolution. Considering that it has a 700MHz PIII and a GF3+ card (slightly better than a GF3 Ti 500), I am not surprised at all.

    You won't be able to play at your native TFT resolution, but lower res should be no problem.
     

Share This Page