iOS 6 issue, do not upgrade

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by foxnews1, Sep 28, 2013.

  1. foxnews1
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    #1
    I upgraded my ATV3 to 6 and noticed that remote functions of holding menu or Select buttons did not work anymore. These functions are important. Holding memu exits all the way out from many levels deep within netflix. Holding Select enable/disable CC.

    luckily, Apple is still signing 5.3, and I was able to restore to 5.3. Otherwise, this issue is a deal breaker for me.

    Just a warning.
     
  2. KeithJenner
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    #2
    I've upgraded and haven't noticed any issues.
     
  3. priitv8
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Location:
    Estonia
    #3
    I occasionally see menu overlaying my playing movie (when I press MENU to exit playback). Only restart helps to fix this. Anybody seeing this?
     
  4. slothrob
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    #4
    This is not a problem with 6.0, these functions still work on my machine.

    It must be a problem with your installation. Make sure you have updated to the second version of 6.0, try restarting your aTV, then restore if that didn't fix it.
     
  5. foxnews1
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    #5
    I just installed it two days ago, which is after Apple removed and released a new one. it could be an upgrade on existing settings that causes some conflict/issue. I did reboot/reset ATV but it did not work either. anyway I am on 5.3 without any issues.
     
  6. slothrob
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    #6
    I just wanted to let you know that that wasn't a design "feature" of 6.0, simply a problem with your device.
     

Share This Page