Resolved iOS 6 WiFi Problem (Resolved)

Discussion in 'iOS 6' started by dtbratt, Sep 19, 2012.

  1. dtbratt, Sep 19, 2012
    Last edited: Sep 19, 2012

    macrumors 6502

    dtbratt

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2011
    Location:
    Stoney Creek, ON
    #1
    I try to connect my iphone and my wifes iphone to our wifi and after it connects. It opens Safari and loads Apple.com with Log In in the header?

    This is weird!

    FIXED! Apple has done something on their side.
     
  2. macrumors 6502a

    JS82712

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    #2
    Same here
     
  3. macrumors newbie

    caseydowney

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2012
    Location:
    Carmel, CA
  4. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2009
    #4
    I'm seeing this too--iPad and iPhone.

    Apple seems to have removed the HTML page that they use to check if you're behind a wifi hotspot paywall.
     
  5. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Location:
    Philadelphia
  6. thread starter macrumors 6502

    dtbratt

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2011
    Location:
    Stoney Creek, ON
  7. macrumors 6502a

    JS82712

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    #7
    I think this is the worst iOS release to date.
    And Steve would've never allowed this.
     
  8. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #8
    I just started encountering this problem too! It seems a part of Apple's site might be temporarily down, as it wasn't happening earlier. Of course, now I'm wondering what is it about connecting to WiFi that Apple is transmitting to itself. :confused:
     
  9. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    #9
    Yep, here too... on multiple devices.

    It was working fine maybe two hours ago. Now I get the same thing you describe above.
     
  10. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    #10
    Same here, but it was working fine earlier after iOS 6 finished installing.
     
  11. macrumors 6502a

    1984

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2005
    #11
    Same here. It keeps losing the wifi signal and switching to 3G/4G and then a weird Apple.com page comes up with "Log In" in the title bar but no log in form. The only way to stop it is to turn of Cellular Data. :eek:
     
  12. thread starter macrumors 6502

    dtbratt

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2011
    Location:
    Stoney Creek, ON
    #12
    I reset my router before I made the post. I guess I did not need to do that!
     
  13. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011
  14. macrumors 6502a

    T-Will

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2008
    #14
    Same problem here connecting to my work's corporate Cisco Wifi (normally a Cisco login page would come up, but I'm just getting the Apple page instead).
     
  15. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
  16. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
  17. macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2004
    #17
    Same here, hugely annoying on my wifi only iPad.

    Also to add, its doing on my retina MBP but doesn't drop the wifi connection.
     
  18. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
  19. haruhiko, Sep 19, 2012
    Last edited: Sep 19, 2012

    macrumors 68040

    haruhiko

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2009
    #19
    This is happening to me too
    What the fxck.
    Apple blew it!!!!
     
  20. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    #20
    I am having the same exact issue. Hopefully they will fix soon - but they should comp everyone's data until then.
     
  21. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    #21
    However, my iPad 2 seems to be working fine without the same problem, only my iPhone 4.
     
  22. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Location:
    San Diego
    #22
    I had the same problem.

    What seemed to work for now was going into wifi and selectinf auto join.
    It has worked ever since.

    Might be worth a try!
     
  23. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    #23
    Same here on iPad 3rd gen. I wonder how they'll fix this.
     
  24. macrumors member

    TheDutchGuy

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Location:
    Europe
    #24
    Got the same problem. Worked fine for several hours, but now I get the same Apple 'failed' login page...
     
  25. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2012
    Location:
    Canada
    #25
    Not even disabling 3G fixes it, for me it comes up with www.apple.com in the header, with a page not found error. Tried 2 different wifi networks, connects for a second and then drops it. Also. iTunes App Store seems to be down.
     

Share This Page