iOS 7 vs iOS 6: RAM usage

Discussion in 'iOS 7' started by Woodcrest64, Aug 5, 2013.

  1. macrumors 6502a

    Woodcrest64

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    #1
    I'm wondering if anyone here knows how much ram iOS 7 uses compared to iOS 6. I'm asking because if it's a lot more than iOS6 then there is a chance that Apple might give the iPhone 5s more than 1GB of memory. Just curious.
     
  2. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    #2
    Works well on my 4S, so RAM obviously isn't a limiting factor in any way.
     
  3. macrumors 68000

    FatPuppy

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2012
    #3
    On ipad 3 I used Battery doctor from app store and on ios 6.1.3 my ipad had 600 mb ram free but on ios 7 it had 200 mb free
     
  4. macrumors 68030

    Mlrollin91

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ventura
    #4
    There are so many factors that lead up to how much RAM is free.

    On my iPad 2, I have about 250MB free on iOS 7 immediately after a reboot. On iOS 6.1.3 I had roughly 325MB.

    On my iPhone 5, I typically have 600MB free on iOS 7 after a reboot, and was about the same on iOS 6.1.4.
     
  5. macrumors 68000

    FatPuppy

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2012
    #5
    Yes but booth versions of ios were clean, I killed all apps in multitasking and I also hard reseted booth.
     
  6. macrumors 603

    Armen

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2013
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #6
    When Apple announces what devices will get the iOS 7 update the hardware specs are taken into consideration so don't worry about Ram.
     
  7. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    #7
    Tell that to iPhone 3G owners when iOS 5 came out.
     
  8. macrumors 68020

    TacticalDesire

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012
    Location:
    Michigan
    #8
    Tell that to iPhone 3G, iPad 1, and 4th gen touch owners.
     
  9. macrumors P6

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #9
    They aren't getting the update, nor did most of them even get the last version...so seems like hardware was actually taken into consideration and accounted for.
     
  10. macrumors 68020

    TacticalDesire

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012
    Location:
    Michigan
    #10
    Which is why iOS4 on the 3G, iOS 5 on the iPad and iOS 6 on the 4th gen touch all made them essentially unusable.
     
  11. macrumors P6

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #11
    That's somewhat of a generalization at best. I've been using iOS 5 on iPad for years now without any issues (at least no more than I've had with iOS 4, for example). I also personally know people with 3 GS phones that have been using iOS 6 on them since it came out and have been just fine with it (and in some sense even better than with iOS 5).
     
  12. macrumors 603

    Armen

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2013
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #12
    My mom's iphone 3GS also runs iOS 6 just fine.
     
  13. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2012
    #13
    I had a 4th gen touch (got a 5th gen this time last year) and even on iOS 6, it was slow as ****.
     
  14. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2014
    #14
    JB Iphone 4 with iOS4.3.3 has 350mb remaining after a clean reboot
     
  15. macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2014
    #15
    The 3GS and iPhone 3G are totally different things. iPhone 3GS runs iOS 6 awesome for a last update.

    On the other hand, try iOS 4 (mac update 4.2.1) or even iOS 3 for that matter on iPhone 3G. It's stuttery, sloooow, and overall unusable.
     
  16. macrumors P6

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #16
    That's one example sure but it's not as widespread as the post I originally replied made it out to be.

    Not even sure why this thread was brought back up after a year.
     

Share This Page