ip adress?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by chris200x9, Dec 12, 2006.

  1. chris200x9 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    #1
    If i re-installed Mac OS X would that change my ip adress?
     
  2. someguy macrumors 68020

    someguy

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2005
    Location:
    Still here.
    #2
    Wha...?

    If you don't mind me asking, why do you want to change your IP address?
     
  3. jeremy.king macrumors 603

    jeremy.king

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Fuquay Varina, NC
    #3
    It could change the way your network connection is configured, so the answer is...DEPENDS
     
  4. chris200x9 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    #4
    because I do.....it's nothing bad or anything...i just do.
     
  5. Eraserhead macrumors G4

    Eraserhead

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    It may do if you get your IP from a DHCP server, but it changes randomly sometimes anyway.
     
  6. jeremy.king macrumors 603

    jeremy.king

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Fuquay Varina, NC
    #6
    Since you have no idea what you are doing, don't bother reinstalling OS X. To change your IP, you can do it in the Network Preferences. However, depending on your network setup , you may not have the luxury of changing your IP address. So before you attempt to solve all your worries so The Man can't find you, you should probably explain your network setup. Are you at home, at school, who's your ISP, are you using a proxy, firewall, or router device...and so on...
     
  7. chris200x9 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    #7
    nevermind its for a really stupid reason anyway and is just not worth it.
     
  8. dextertangocci macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    #8
    What a pointless thread:rolleyes:
     
  9. manni2000 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2006
    #9
    Go On!

    go on, i think we all wanna know why now>?:)
     
  10. nitynate macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2006
    Location:
    Clearwater, FL
    #10
    I enjoy watching people walk down my street with laptop and connect to MY IP address with there laptops.


    It pisses me off.
     
  11. jeremy.king macrumors 603

    jeremy.king

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Fuquay Varina, NC
    #11
    You can only blame yourself since you have an unprotected access point. Lock it down, and make it such that only you (and other authorized machines) can connect.
     
  12. chris200x9 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    #12
    ok if you must know to get back into this forum I was blocked from. :eek:

    ps. I know this was a pointless thread and I'm sorry, but thank you all for trying to help.
     
  13. jeremy.king macrumors 603

    jeremy.king

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Fuquay Varina, NC
    #13
    What site? What did you do to get blocked/banned?
     
  14. chris200x9 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    #14


    Living With Style


    I was in the flame boards and took it a lil too far and really really flamed a mod. and h banned me for mad sass.
     
  15. notjustjay macrumors 603

    notjustjay

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Location:
    Canada, eh?
    #15
    IP addresses are typically assigned to you (using DHCP) by some entity outside of your computer, like a router, a corporate network, or your upstream cable/DSL company, so reinstalling the OS has no real bearing on whether your IP address changes.
     
  16. yg17 macrumors G5

    yg17

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #16
    You were banned. You deserved it. Get over it.
     
  17. chris200x9 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    #17
    tru dat!...luckily I just realized i can still go on from home cuz i gots dial up
     

Share This Page