IP being used by another?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Peter Franks, Aug 17, 2011.

  1. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    Location:
    London UK
    #1
    Your IP Address is being used by another computer keeps coming up a lot, Is that someone hacking into my broadband would you say or is that something that comes up on the Mac and I just don't know about it?
     
  2. macrumors 68000

    paulsalter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    shouldn't be getting this a lot, but it can be changed in your router settings

    what happens is the router allocates an address for each of the devices on your network

    for me I have
    192.168.2.2
    up to about
    192.168.2.10

    8 different devices, last digit just changes

    I think as default, the computer gets to use this address for X amount of days, then it requests another from the router, sometimes if machines are off, then when it requests a new one, it can take an expired one from another machine (which can give the message you are seeing)

    for me, I configuring my router to say that the lease time is forever, so they never expire, so once a machine gets its address, it keeps it

    you can also turn off DHCP on your router, and manually configure devices

    If thats makes any sense

    it's all to do with how your router handles DHCP
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    Location:
    London UK
    #3
    The only other device that was on at the time was probably the iphone?
     
  4. macrumors 68000

    paulsalter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    Its possible for it to still happen with 2 devices

    you could manually setup your phone to see if it resolves the issue (easier than changing the router)

    on the phone, go into settings
    then click on wifi
    click the little arrow next to your router name

    the top selection 'IP Address' make a note of all these settings

    click the button that says static and manually type in the settings from the above

    the only difference you want to make is the top one for IP Address
    eg
    mine is currently 192.168.2.4 change the last digit to a higher number (192.168.2.10)

    See how it goes with this

    To revert back just click the DHCP button instead of the static, the phone will then auto set itself up from the router
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    Location:
    London UK

Share This Page