iPad 3 to Have 1GB of RAM?

Discussion in 'iOS Blog Discussion' started by GoGa, Mar 6, 2012.

  1. macrumors regular

    GoGa

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2012
    #1
    Original link here (with picture): http://chronicwire.com/the-ipad-3-has-1gb-of-ram

    :D
     
  2. macrumors bot

    MacRumors

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2001
    #2
    iPad 3 to Have 1GB of RAM?

    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]


    Based on debug screenshots originally posted by BGR, ChronicWire believes the iPad 3 (or iPad HD) being announced tomorrow will have 1GB of RAM total.

    This belief is based on some calculations based on the vm_page_bootstrap number, which yields a number close to 1GB of RAM.

    The Verge had previously suggested that the new iPad would have more RAM, but didn't specify the amount. The iPad 2 presently has 512MB of RAM.

    Article Link: iPad 3 to Have 1GB of RAM?
     
  3. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    #3
    It's only natural, I mean, 512 MB won't cut it and it would be a waste of the new processor if you don't have enough memory to 'catch' up with it.
     
  4. macrumors 65816

    penajmz

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    Location:
    New York City
    #4
    Makes sense.
     
  5. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2011
    #5
    With a retina display, its more important to have a larger amount of RAM. Applications are going to need to load higher resolution artwork into memory.
     
  6. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    #6
    Saw this too, made me look at the BGR photos again. Was this the photo set that led us to believe iPad 3 would have a quad-core CPU? Because I don't see it -- there are four "[NAND] Found Chip ID" lines, but wouldn't those be for NAND flash memory?

    Kinda late in the game, I'm just wondering if that's where the quad-core rumor came from in the first place (meaning - there isn't one).
     
  7. macrumors 6502

    Bradllez

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2012
    Location:
    Orlando
    #7
    Yay.

    /approval
     
  8. macrumors regular

    DenisAuermann

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012
    Location:
    San Salvador, El Salvador
    #8
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPod; CPU iPhone OS 5_0_1 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Mobile/9A405)

    I think you're right. The first iPad had 256 of RAM, the second on had 512 and the third one 1Gb. It looks like they're doubling it this time
     
  9. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012
    Location:
    Copenhagen
    #9
    Will be awesome if true...

    Retina, 1gb ram, SIRI and PLEEEEASE give us 128gb (32gb start) :D
     
  10. macrumors 65816

    Macdude2010

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Location:
    The Apple Store
    #10
    Looking good, think its good that apple is doing this to make sure the retina display works properly. But the ARM part number from this debug image is the A5X leaked part number
     
  11. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    #11
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A334 Safari/7534.48.3)

    Wow! It's amazing the amount of crap you can decipher form a bunch of effing gibberish.
     
  12. macrumors 68000

    Porco

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2005
    #12
    And they shall call the new product the iPad GB.

    (joke)
     
  13. macrumors 68020

    MacinDoc

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2004
    Location:
    The Great White North
    #13
    Fingers crossed that it's true...
     
  14. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    Location:
    San Francisco, California
    #14
    Too bad that Apple never reveals the amount of ram in their iPad devices. We'll have to wait for a third party tear down to know for sure.
     
  15. Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #15
    Only when sold in England, Scotland or Wales.

    (also joke).

    B
     
  16. macrumors 6502a

    snowmoon

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Location:
    Albany, NY
    #16
    And you call yourself geeks; a page is 4096 bytes, not 4000.

    244,276+8396 (pages) x 4,096 bytes (size of a page) = 1,034,944,512 ( 987 MB )
     
  17. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2011
    #17
    if only it was quad core
     
  18. macrumors 65816

    Four oF NINE

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2011
    Location:
    Soviet Union
    #18
    It's not an improvement if it's not a help. It's not an upgrade if you don't' notice the difference. It's not aspirational if it's just a number
     
  19. macrumors 65816

    GenesisST

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Location:
    Where I live
    #19

    Geeks round things up, nerds are precise... ;)
     
  20. macrumors 68020

    MacinDoc

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2004
    Location:
    The Great White North
    #20
    I have the feeling Apple might say something along the lines of "we've doubled the RAM" at tomorrow's keynote. And maybe also claims of "five times the graphics power", "four times the screen resolution", and perhaps "up to ten times the download speed".
     
  21. macrumors 6502a

    snowmoon

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Location:
    Albany, NY
    #21
    The vast majority of crashes on my iPad are from out of memory situations, some websites will not open at all because of their complexity. The beauty of iOS ( and OSX before it ) was in not being noticed.
     
  22. macrumors 65816

    Neodym

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2002
    #22
    With 4x the pixels (Retina) compared to iPad 1/2 the "relative" usable Ram will be back to the iPad 1's meager 256MB, won't it? Wonder if that will be as noticeable on that new iPad as on the first one in everyday use...
     
  23. macrumors regular

    Macopotamus

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    #23
    1GB of RAM would be fantastic, let's hope it's true
     
  24. Roy G Biv, Mar 6, 2012
    Last edited: Mar 6, 2012

    macrumors 6502

    Roy G Biv

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010
    #24
    Forget stuff?

    With 4x the resolution and only 2x the memory, won't the iPad be forgetting stuff and losing track of information? I can hardly remember where I parked at Wal-Mart, and I read in a book once that said my brain is the most powerful computer in the world! :eek:
     
  25. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    #25
    Not that it desperately needs it, but competition dictates that it does. My Samsung Galaxy tab 7.0 plus has 1GB of ram and it's nearing or past six months old already.
     

Share This Page