iPad 3G: "no service" (???)

Discussion in 'iPad' started by John Paul, Jun 15, 2010.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Location:
    Washington DC
    #1
    Have a problem, trying to figure out what's going on...

    A little over a week ago I got my 3G. The day after I got it I signed up for the unlimited data plan without any hassles, got my confirmation email, etc. Just to test it out to make sure it was working I turned off the WiFi on the iPad and used the 3G to surf around the web a bit, everything was perfect.

    Well since I am mostly at home (WiFi network) I turned off the 3G and have been using the iPad exclusively on WiFi for about a week.

    Then yesterday I had to run some errands across town. Got on the metro, pulled out the iPad, turned on the 3G and... "no service." Figured maybe it was something to do with all the metal of the subway train, so waited til I arrived at my destination, got outside, sat down on a park bench... "no service." Went to 3 or 4 places all around Washington DC and its near suburbs, everywhere "no service."

    Finally got back home, and even at home (where it had worked perfectly fine a week ago)... "no service." Getting the same message today.

    I'm trying to figure out if it's an AT&T issue (doubtful, unless the entire greater Washington metro area has had its 3G network down for over 24 hours now...highly unlikely), a hardware issue (could some component in the iPad critical for the 3G somehow have broken?) or whether there is some setting that I am just missing.

    So to start with the latter, is there anything I need to be doing in the Settings besides simply turning on the "Settings --> Cellular Data" to "On"? I can hit the "Settings --> View Account" and log in correctly, everything seems fine there. Not really sure what "APN settings" is for, I assume just use my AT&T iPad login & password, yes?

    I'm perplexed. Help!
     
  2. macrumors 6502

    harry*333

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    #2
    Mine says no service when I turn it back on, though as soon as I try and load something it gets a signal, just another bug
    Waiting for that update apple...
     
  3. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Location:
    Washington DC
    #3
    Sadly that's not the case with me...when I try to get to the web I can a "no internet connection" error message. :(
     
  4. macrumors 6502

    harry*333

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    #4
    Try doing a hard reset, hold both the home and sleep buttons down at the same time
    If that doesn't work then try restoring
    If it still doesn't work go to the genius bar
     
  5. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Location:
    Washington DC
    #5
    Wow, well I feel like an idiot. Did the hard reset and everything is back to working fine.

    Really embarrassed I didn't think of something as simple as that myself. :eek: Thanks for the help.
     
  6. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    #6
    It's the iPad bug originally and I thought it's the reason of my network. I usually switches the edge when there is "no server".
     
  7. macrumors regular

    ikm19

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #7
    I am too getting no service I did try reseting the network settings and calling the att customer care number but still it didn't worked out.
    They gave me a case number and said everything is fine at their end but they will still look out what's wrong.

    Any suggestions ?
     
  8. macrumors regular

    ikm19

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #8
    I am at work and still i am getting no service...
    I was able to get service when i was on freeway but when i stop some place the network goes away.
    kind of weird but i dont know how i explain the problem to tech department.
     
  9. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2006
    #9
    It's funny just seeing this bug. Yesterday I had wifi off and the "no service" thing. Ok? but you know what? It still loaded webpages. After a while it changed and showed "No service" and the 3G icon next to it LOL.

    I made a screenshot, I will post it here later!
     
  10. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    #10
    no service

    did hard restart, reset no luck
    turned on airplane mode then off twice fixed problem
     
  11. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2012
    #11
    Resurrecting an old thread here, but I have the same problem.

    Ipad 1st generation has lost its 3G connection for no apparent reason.

    Ive tried all the suggestions above but to no avail.

    Ive restored my device and replaced the cellular carriers sim, again to no avail.

    Help!
     

Share This Page