iPad iPad 4 - 5ghz WiFi issues

Discussion in 'iPad' started by deraj090, Nov 4, 2012.

  1. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    #1
    Just purchased the 4th gen 16GB WiFi only. I'm trying to connect to my 5GhZ band of my Belkin N600 router -- it isnt showing up as an option.

    Any fixes for this?

    Thanks!
     
  2. macrumors 603

    saving107

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Location:
    San Jose, Ca
    #2
    The 5GHz network has a higher throughput but a weaker range. How far away are you from the router?
     
  3. macrumors 68040

    D.T.

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Location:
    Vilano Beach, FL
    #3
    Yep. I get about 2 bars on 5Ghz vs. full on 2.4 downstairs in the main TV room (the router from there is the opposite corner, upstairs). The 2.4Ghz is even strong out in the driveway where the 5GHz disappears.
     
  4. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    #4
    I'm sitting right next to the router. My iPhone 5 is picking it up ... Could it be a hardware issue?
     
  5. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    #5
    Try resetting both router and the iPad. Your SSID is not hidden, right?
     
  6. macrumors 68040

    D.T.

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Location:
    Vilano Beach, FL
    #6
    Weird. And you're broadcasting the SSID, etc.? I'm running a Asus RT-56U, definitely seeing the 5Ghz channel on my 4th gen iPad. AFAIK, there's no mystery settings in the iPad, if Wifi is on, it should see any/all networks.
     
  7. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    #7
    Yes (broadcasting the SSID). No reason why it isn't picking up the 5Ghz channel...
     
  8. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    #8
    Just tested my roommate's iPad 3. Works fine with the 5Ghz channel. This is so strange.
     
  9. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2012
    #9
    Make sure you don't have MAC filtering enabled.
     
  10. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
  11. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
  12. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    #12
    Told you. That's the easiest thing to try EVERYTIME!
     
  13. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    #13
    Did you turn it off and on again? Turn it off and on again!!! /IT show
     
  14. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    #14
    IPad 4 here... 150mbs connection 5GHz so it can work using a e4200
     
  15. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    #15
    :confused:
     
  16. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    #16
    I had the same issues on my mini but after updating to 6.0.1 things seem to have improved. If you have not done so yet, give that a try.
     

Share This Page